Looking Forward to Christmas Eve

100pixelmod32Probably my favorite day of the year, Christmas Eve is just one day away. More specifically, it’s the evening and night I enjoy the most. After weeks of holiday ads, attending events, dealing with traffic in shopping areas, long checkout lines along with countless other things to do, nightfall on Christmas Eve suddenly calms the holiday madness.

I’m not talking about presents or a family event; but my feeling will start around 8:00 pm; that’s when we leave to go to church. The roads aren’t crowded; many of the closed stores are fronted by empty parking lots; neighborhood lights are on; and light Christmas music will be on my car radio for that 15-minute journey.

My wife and I play in a bell & chimes choir at church; thus we’ll be there for two services. Whether the celebratory sounds of Joy to the World or the calm nature of Silent Night by candlelight, Christmas music at church is always moving. Besides, our music director always coordinates a wonderful music event.

We’ll leave church around 12:15-12:30 am feeling spiritually refreshed, but physically tired. Easy Christmas music will play while on the return trip home; and yes, a calmer drive than before. I’ll feel sad for the convenient store workers and wonder why the owners can’t close for the night.

Christmas Eve is simply the one night of the year when society seems to slow down – and I like that.