On Cancer News

About 6 weeks ago, the news reported the good and amazing news that deaths from cancer declined. Considering over 20 years has passed since my mother succumbed from her cancer battle, I say Amen to progress. Interestingly, the next week we received news that doctors diagnosed two of our friends with cancer – and one of those friends I would consider in my inner circle.

Here are some of my hopes for them.

  • Hope that they will attack with a determined, positive attitude.
  • Hope for patience with their spouses.
  • Hope for strength and support for their spouses and immediate family.
  • Hope they do not fall into the “why me?” pit of self-pity.

The latter may seem a bit odd, but I still recall a TV interview with a group of cancer survivors during my mother’s battle those many years ago. The survivor simply said, “Why not me? What was so special about me that I deserved to be immune?”

The survivor’s answer was a simple “nothing” – and I related it to my mother. She treated people well, yet she was not special enough for the world to spare her from the battle, and someone else gets it.

Several months ago a friend of mine told me of one of their friend in their late 20s was diagnosed with cancer. Once again, I simply asked the same question. He suddenly stopped to think as the question caught him a bit off guard … then he kept thinking after he relayed my question to his spouse.

To everyone fighting cancer, I pray for your strength and healing – so be strong and keep your head up.

PS: Since the situation involving my mother became a special moment in my life, I invite you to read my story here (a past post).

6 thoughts on “On Cancer News

  1. I am so sorry Frank. My mother-in-law and father-in-law both had recent scares. Thankfully, any cancer was caught early. My best wishes for your friends.

    • Mo,
      On behalf of my friends, thanks. For sure, it’s a difficult fight, but one never knows – but maybe someday we’ll be able to beat it. Best of luck to your in-laws.
      Thanks for commenting.

Comment with respect.

