Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 96

On the Big Picture of Life
Last Friday I mentioned my friend’s 4-year old special needs daughter with epilepsy who had surgery the day. Not only was the surgery successful, the hospital discharged her earlier than anticipated and the entire family returned home (several time zones away). Simply awesome!

Announcements

  • A special rapture post tomorrow
  • Consider friending A Frank Angle on Facebook

On Politics
Newt Gingrich and Ron Paul are in. Mike Huckabee and Donald Trump are out. Mitch Daniels is still pondering. Michelle Bachmann seems to be readying her announcement. Some pundits are now mentioning Texas Governor Rick Perry’s name. Yawn ……

Another week done and another week without the House of Representatives passing a jobs bill. Meanwhile, I appreciated this USA Today column that looked at globalization and US employment and this David Brooks column, which is a good accompaniment.

This recent Gallup poll shows American are dissatisfied with Congress. Move over Einstein, here comes Gallup! Yet, 57% are happy with those serving them. Maybe that means voters are the problem. Also, I continue to maintain that just like the Democrats in 2008, the Republicans of 2010 have misread the election results.

Gallup also published this look at GOP supporters in terms of education and salary – but you can draw your own conclusions.

On the Potpourri
Today is May 20th, the 140th day of the year; and to date we Cincinnatians have received around 30 inches of rain so far this year. Given the average annual rainfall in Cincinnati (my home) is 36 inches, that means we have received 83.3% of the average rain over 38.3% of the days.

Given tomorrow’s end of the world, the Reds magic number to clinch the NL Central championship is three.

The Center for Disease Control (CDC) has information about preparing for the Zombie Apocalypse. This is wonderful!

US News and World Report published the World’s Prettiest Places. I have only been to one on their list, but my personal list (that I’ve seen) would include the Na Pali Coast and the Amalfi Coast. Check out those links! What’s the most beautiful place you have visited?

If anyone ever wants to know how to twirl breast tassels, here’s a training video.

Meanwhile, enjoy this song by a Canadian band from my youth, and still one of my all-time favorite songs.

22 thoughts on “Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 96

  1. Good morning Frank!

    Ah the Stampeders from Calgary, Alberta.

    When you mentioned a Canadian band yesterday, I forgot all about them.

    I thought of The Guess Who, BTO, Rush, Blue Rodeo and also these zany guys… a bunch of crazy canucks from my province with a name that still causes a stir!

    Happy Friday!

    Like

    • Good Morning Meesh,
      I didn’t think you would zero in on the Stampeders. Then again, as you mention, Canada has given us much music – let alone performers going by their name, and I will not mention my ultimate fav. 🙂 Thanks for the BNL video. Although zany, I enjoy their music. thanks for sharing and have a good weekend.

      PS: The All-Time Als post had a good number of hits yesterday!

      Like

      • Congrats Frank on your “Al post” it certainly was well done, so I’m not surprised.

        Well if you do not mention her I will here…

        About this video, I had included this one in honour of your wedding anniversary as a tribute to you and your wife on our VodPod account—-> http://vodpod.com/almeesh

        Anyway Frank, that video became a hit right away! I have never seen a video get re-collected so quickly. Re-enjoy “our” Shania Twain!

        Like

        • Meesh,
          And how did I know you would post a video. Well, it was that or the return of the green shorts. 🙂 Meanwhile, I will make sure my wife sees this too.

          Like

  2. Frank,

    OK I will return your green shorts… so nice to hear about your friend’s daughter… and the GOP politics seem pretty grim to me…Yeh there’s no chance of a US President with a horrible comb-over, doesn’t that man own a mirror?

    Oh yesssss thanks for the valuable info “How to Twirl your Tassels” ;roll:

    Like

    • Meesh,
      Believe me … I took the green shorts from 2012 to reside in my files. 🙂 Glad to know that you appreciated the Tassels video. It simply cracks me up .. it must be the tone of the moderator.

      In terms of the GOP, I may handicap the field next week … well, in terms of getting my moderate, independent vote.

      By the way, see the CDC link as it shows a good mix of sense of humor and the importance of being prepared. Very clever.

      Like

  3. Did you hear that the CDC servers crashed due to traffic overload? I loved the way they slipped it into the whole “end of the world” hype without actually mentioning the hype itself.
    I wouldn’t hold too closely to the End of Days prediction. This guy has already called for it at least once, back in 1994, after which he admitted he forgot to factor in Year Zero. (Wait, what? You forgot ONE year, so you moved the date back 17 years? HUH?)
    And worry not, even if both Blackjack and his little blonde friend get raptured, I’ll still have the cats. Especially the kitten, aptly named “Bouncer”. Trust me, she is THE incarnation of evil. That’s the reason kittens are so cute – so you don’t kill ’em! 😀
    Glad to hear your friend’s daughter is doing so well. Keep us updated, okay?
    I’ll check out the beautiful places after I clean out the Inbox for the day. My fave is Huntington Beach, CA. New England fishing village on one side of the main drag, typical tile-roofed adobe buildings on the other.
    Have a good day!

    Like

    • John,
      Hearing the news story about the server crash is how I found their post. Very creative! Nonetheless, I’m glad that the kitten will be around for you. 🙂 You’ll appreciate the beautiful places links. Sure is a lot of beauty in the world! Thanks for visiting! Reminder: Don’t forget to answer the 3 questions from the email. 😉

      Like

  4. Loved the beautiful places link. I’ve been to two – Grand Canyon, and have seen the Northern Lights from Alaska. Great Barrier Reef is one of my dream destinations I hope to achieve if not raptured on Saturday.

    Now, I’m going to go lock myself in the spare room and work on that breast tassel thing. If my partner catches me all I have to say is “But honey, it was on the Internet!” 🙂

    Have a great weekend.

    Like

    • Beaglez,
      Only the Grand Canyon for me. Unfortunately, when in Alaska, I didn’t see the Northern Lights. (Oh how I love the pictures of them.). Good luck with the tassels – but don’t show or tell Belle! Thanks for visiting.

      Like

    • Spinny,
      Beautiful sites, but haven’t been to either …. but very close to Capri – but happen to pick Amalfi for that day. In other words, that region is worth the time! Love the Rio pic. Thanks for sharing.

      Like

  5. I found the USA Today column on globalization and US employment interesting in that it emphasized the wages and benefits of older US workers as the problem. If, as the column points out, it’s hard to find Chinese and Vietnamese workers over 30 years old, then my question is: What is happening to the workers in China and Vietnam older than 30? Are they simply being abandoned into a condition of unemployment, low paying jobs, or poverty level state welfare? I’m curious.

    Like

    • Tim,
      Great question, and I love no clue and won’t know where to start digging around on that one. Well, besides tracking down the author’s email address.
      Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  6. Vintage, Frank, at his very best…How ’bout them Stampeders eh? Happy/thrilled upon reading the good news about your friend’s four year old daughter–WooHoo!!!

    Like

    • Al,
      The Stampeders hit always brings a smile …. love that tune.! And yes …. amazing news about the youngster. Speaking of which, I need to check in with them for an update. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Comment with respect.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.