On a Symbolic Bike

BikerFriend

This is my friend – the one who someone fatally shot from the outside while sitting in his favorite chair inside his house. I post this as a tribute to a wonderful person missed by many.

This picture is from his ride across the country for his 60th birthday. After all, the bicycle is a symbol for him and his life

Bicycle is a symbol for outdoor activity

  • Biking
  • Hiking
  • Working outside

Bicycle is a symbol for working with his hands

  • Working on his own bike
  • Daring to fix anything
  • Baking bread
  • Willingness to help those who ask or are in need
  • Work at church on the property maintenance
  • Cooking for Men’s Breakfast group
  • Volunteering on a local bike trail

Bicycle is a symbol of freedom

  • Freedom of outdoor activities
  • Freedom to bicycle across the country
  • Freedom to try something new
  • Fought for freedom as a Marine in Vietnam

Bicycle is a symbol of his personality

  • Smiling as he rode
  • Free spirit of adventure
  • Daredevil to try
  • Outgoing friendliness
  • Ease of talking with strangers

Bicycle is a symbol for what he loved

  • Outdoors
  • Meeting people
  • Country
  • Chocolate
  • Wine
  • Cake
  • Helping people
  • Friends
  • Wife
  • God

Cheers to my friend! After all, he would smile at this.

61 thoughts on “On a Symbolic Bike

  1. I am so sorry about your friend. What a freak accident. So tragic and what a shock to all who knew him. That’s a lovely and now very special photo of him. Lovely tribute, Frank xx

  2. A very nice tribute. I really don’t understand how such a thing could happen. Was it really an accident? What a tragedy. But you have shown him looking very good; at a moment of great accomplishment.

  3. A truly uplifting music video.

    I smiled along with your friend, I mourn his senselessness death, I unapologetically support gun control.

  4. I’m so sad about your wonderful friend, Frank, but this amazing video really made my heart smile. Lovely tribute, and thanks for introducing me to ‘The Piano Guys’. :)

  5. What a great way to look at a bright life in a bright light. My condolences for you, his family, and his friend. I hope they all find a way to smile through this.

  6. Dear Frank,
    I’m so sorry for the loss of someone who sounds so very cool. Tragic, senseless, unnecessary. I hate guns and the fools who do stupid things with them. Stupid and deadly.

  7. I am very deeply moved by the tribute you’ve written remembering your friend, and sharing him with us. I can only imagine what a huge hole he has left in the many lives he touched. He sounds like a man who lived life well and the circumstances of his death leave me sickened. I can imagine how much he would appreciate such a gorgeous musical tribute, too. Sometimes our hearts just plain old hurt!

    • Debra,
      He was a good guy in many ways … and his personality was always a joy to be around. Tragic indeed … and senseless as well, but I still smile in remembrance. Thanks for the kind words.

  8. Frank, I am so sorry regarding your friend. It is just too, too insane.

    A wonderful photo.

    The music is beautiful too – never this before.

    • Words,
      Although a tragic death, he touched the life of many in simple ways. I recently heard from his widow, who also enjoyed the post. Glad you enjoyed this video and music from The Piano Guys.

  9. What a beautiful tribute to your friend. Such senseless and random violence hurts so many, many people.

    I love The Piano guys and was first introduced to them by Alex Autin, another inspiring blogger. :)

  10. Bicycles are a step towards independence for kids. I remember the first one i bought with my own money . Metallic green . Unknown brand called “utopia.” Was $110. Probably about 1974.

  11. Pingback: On Premiering a Fantasia | A Frank Angle

  12. This is terribly sad :(
    May your friend keep on riding his bike in Heaven.
    What a lovely post in his memory. And – a beautiful rendition of Over the Rainbow too.

Comment with respect.

