On Toasting April


April is here. For us in the northern hemisphere, it’s a time for showers and spring flowers. Leaves return to the barren trees and green grass emerges from its slumber. Migrating birds return to the summer home they share with year-round residence, and day and night air fills with familiar sounds that have been absent.

April is also a time for celebrations – a month to increase awareness about cancer control, Cesareans, irritable bowels, alcohol, autism, math, habitats, multiple births, heartworm, Parkinson’s, stress, pet first aid, testicular cancer, sexually transmitted diseases, DNA, genomics, & stem cells.

April is a time for month-long promotions about greyhound adoption, amateur radio, car care, welding, community spirit, home improvement, card & letter writing, facial protection, landscape architecture, safe digging, and rebuilding.

April is a month to appreciate couples, frogs, military children, decorating, holy humor, guitars, jazz, humor, kites, poetry, straw hats, and smiles.

April is a time to celebrate Food Month while cherishing culinary delights as soft pretzels, cranberries & gooseberries, grilled cheese sandwiches, BLTs, tomatillos, Asian Pears, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, pecans, and soy foods.

April celebrates Knuckles Down and provides 30 opportunities to issue a Twit Award.

April always starts with All Fools Day. I love this classic video that aired in the UK on April 1, 1957. (Start at 30 seconds) Enjoy – and good luck with finding a fool today.

65 thoughts on “On Toasting April

  1. Ah, the old spaghetti crop video, Frank! April Fool’s Day is also my sister’s birthday. I had a great time with that when I was a kid. Now I just hope the card I sent her on Saturday reaches her in time.

    • Lame,
      SNL also did this years ago (about 1980). Then again, maybe they used this BBC clip, but I think they dd their variation. Happy Birthday to your sis! Mom of Thurber?

  2. Happy April Frank, thanks for the heads up here with all of these, there were a couple of things there I had TOTALLY forgotten about. April sure is a busy month, I’d better get on with it to make sure I mark all of those in some way…

  3. Oh Frank, that clip is brilliant. I just happened to be watching BBC where the producer of the program was talking about making the story and I opened your post to find it…thank you.

  4. Pingback: The spaghetti harvest | Bagni di Lucca and Beyond

  5. I’m a fool every day ….. our most memorable TV April fool joke was in the 60’s and we were told that a tight would give us color TV. just hold it in front of the screen – brilliant, there was thousands of tights wasted that day over here. Mom and me .. wasted a pair too. *smile Happy April, Frank

    • Colline,
      Cincinnati had great weather on its biggest day of the year (yesterday) as it was warm and sunny with blue skies. Oops … but yesterday was still March. Today is supposed to be warmer, but the rains are behind it.

  6. Home grown spaghetti. Will bring the wine, Italian coffee and “home grown” cannoli for dessert. Ask Mrs. aFA if she minds another plate at the table….I’ll be there around supper time.

  7. Happy April, Frank!

    Sorry to have been away all weekend. I don’t know how many posts I may have missed, but it’s going to be a busy month for me–traveling to the beach, teaching a week-long workshop, and having friends visit from the US. Fun, but YIKES!

    As I commented on another blog, maybe all of this happening at once is appropriate, given that it’s April, after-all. When it rains,, it pours. Right?

    By the way, spaghetti harvest, my ass!!!!

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    • Kathy,
      Ask around to down there to see if there is a version/variety of spaghetti trees that can grow in the Ecuadoran climate.

      Sounds like you have busy times ahead … so good luck and enjoy!

  8. Haha! Love the video… but now I’m craving spaghetti! Which isn’t all that unusual. :-D
    Happy Spring, and 1st Day of April, Frank! No shortage of fools ’round here. I take the #1 spot, at home.

  9. I was halfway through reading an online science article on a new theory about the Permian mass-extinction when I remembered what day it was. Now I don’t know what to think. I suggest that April 1 be officially designated as National Skeptics’ Day. :grin:

  10. I made it through the 1st without getting pranked! Yay me, I’m really gullible and usually get fooled…

  11. Pingback: On Satire Bits: Vol. 88 | A Frank Angle

  12. Pingback: On a Mallow Monday | A Frank Angle

Comment with respect.

