To a Fierce Raider from the Past

While on our Vancouver-to-San Diego cruise last October, we had just walked off the ship in Astoria, Oregon. As we passed a very tall gentleman and his wife, I glanced to see if that was the lady you sat beside me the night before in the ship’s theater. Then I noticed the signature moustache on her husband, who also walked as if his knees were often injured.

Since I respect their privacy, I’m one who seldom approaches celebrities. As I watched him mingle with other passengers over upcoming days, I was sure I would regret not meeting Ben Davidson, the 14-year defensive end who had many great years in the 1960s.

davidson1Later in the cruise at a wine tasting event, I approached him, shook his hand, and had a short discussion. He explained to me that as he’s gotten older, he has grown to appreciate fans recognizing him.

So there I was, anxious to meet a football great from my youth, and the last thing he said to me caught me totally off guard: “Thanks for remembering me.” I’m still stunned.

Here’s a What Happened to Ben Davidson Q&A interview from the Raiders.

4 thoughts on “To a Fierce Raider from the Past

  1. WOW! one for your history book Afrank!! i love the old raiders, now that was football!!

    my brother lives in oakland, he eats & sleeps the raiders, i’m going to forward this to him!!

    Like

  2. Great stuff Frank. I liked the answer to the question about his mustache. I like how he was asked to mustache during the one shoot about the Revolutionary War, and that he still declined to shave it off.

    Nice post as always!

    Like

  3. Pingback: On 25 nonClassmates « A Frank Angle

Comment with respect.

