Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 152

On Politics
My hat is off to our Kabuki Congress for doing nothing overly stupid this week. Yep, one of the benefits of their summer recess.

A special thank you to the U.S. Supreme Court. As evident on more than one occasion from each side, your Citizens United decision has elevated the use of distortion and incorrectness to a new level.

Both presidential campaigns continue belittling the other while avoiding facing important issues of the day. Meanwhile, don’t forget PolitiFact and Annenberg Fact Check to examine the claims.

Abtwixt did this great post a few days ago about the separation of church and state. Combine it with my last post on this issue, you will have a lot to ponder.

On Headlines from The Onion

  • Scientists Say Venom Taken from Politicians Could Provide Medical Benefits
  • Blind Archer Sets New World Record before Accidently Murdering Eight
  • Obama Slips “Hope” into Speech for Fans
  • Romney Stuck in Endless Loop of Uncomfortable Chuckling
  • Area Family Awakens to Find Michelle Obama Tending Backyard Garden
  • World Leader Wondering Way He Met with Former Governor
  • Biden’s eBay Feedback Rating Dips Below 35 Percent

Interesting Reads
Columnist David Ignatius about Saudi Arabia
Columnist Kathleen Parker on First Ladies
Columnist George Will on the Dangers of Football
Darwin’s Finches
Christianity and History of Science Infographic
Three-Ingredient Recipes from Food and Wine magazine
Why Sand doesn’t Stick to Volleyball Players

On Potpourri
Woo hoo!!!! A break in the weather is possible for the weekend.

I continue to be discouraged by this summer’s decline in stats, but extremely appreciative to those who take the time to stop by … especially those who comment.

For fans of my weekend classic cartoon posts, no post this weekend because of a busy schedule.

This weekend we are celebrating my in-laws Diamond Anniversary (60th) with a grand party involving friends and family. That’s them on their wedding day. Below the pic is a video of one of their favorite songs. Have a safe weekend everyone. In the words of Garrison Keillor, Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.

55 thoughts on “Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 152

  1. Your in-laws have good timing. I understand there’s a certain lady overseas celebrating her Diamond Jubilee as well. Lizzie something or other. 😉 (Seriously, my congratulations and wishes for continued health and happiness!)
    Do you know if there’s any strong German ethnic group in Cincinnati? (WOW! What a radical tangent!) I need to gather up some cities with strong German minorities. Yeah, I know, go to Wisconsin. Just thought I’d ask. (Long story, I can tell you by Email if you wish.)
    I gotta go with Romney stuck in a feedback loop. Some of the interviews I’ve seen of him strike me as downright robotic! 😀
    Try not to overwork yourself. Me, I got hundreds of feet of weed-whacking ahead of me, so I’m waiting for Saturday, in the seventies. 70s? Dang – where’s my parka and thermal underwear?!? 😯

    Like

    • John,
      I’ve done some research on some of the milestone years, and I found some interesting stuff. Yes, Cincinnati has a very strong German heritage … thus the largest Octoberfest outside of Munich. However, Cincinnati doesn’t have a German section of town. Enjoy the more pleasant weekend (assuming in occurs). Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  2. Oh my. Where to begin.

    My Dad loved “Mack the Knife.” He told one of my brothers that he wanted it played at his funeral. It was 2000, before I pods, and my niece and I hunted the music stores for a copy. But instead, we found it in an unexpected place. In a fish. It was one of those fake mounted fish. When you press the button, it sings Mack the Knife. My dad would have loved it. (My brother, not so much.)

    And Frank, Frank, Frank, just because Congress is on recess doesn’t mean they have stopped screwing stuff up. They’re just doing it in individual districts.

    Like

    • Elyse,
      Cheers to your dad enjoying Mack the Knife … and the Bobby Darin version is an awesome one! Meanwhile, my district is lucky. Our rep (Jean Schmidt) was so surprised at her primary loss, she hasn’t given interviews. Although never one of my favorites, her replacement has the potential to be worse … but time will tell. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

      • My rep is pretty awful, but he’ll be there a while. Frank Wolf. I didn’t realize Jean lost. Of course these days that does mean the replacement will be far crazier. What a shame.

        Like

        • Never heard of Frank Wolf, but I will keep my eyes and ears open for him. Although they are not in session, I had to use the Mute button this morning on Rep Marsha Blackburn (R-TN).

          Like

  3. Loved all the Onion headlines this post. I’ve noticed a bit of an August slump on my site, too. I figure that people are outside, taking it easy and spending less time online. What I found cool about the Bobby Darin clip is that he didn’t appear to be lip syncing his own song. I hate that so much! Thanks for sharing your in-laws wedding photo. I always like looking at vintage pix of people — must be the voyeur in me. Have a great weekend!

    Like

    • Lame,
      Stats have been slumping here all summer … so I’ll just have to wait to see what happens in the fall. Glad you liked the Bobby Darin clip – such a great song! We enjoyed the movie Beyond the Sea. Glad you liked the pic too .. and thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  4. Venom Taken from Politicians Could Provide Medical Benefits…damn we are going to be charged for that too…

    Lot of my blogger friends have taken a break too but hey ..yay to the atitude..lets break summer and show it what we are made of 🙂

    wish you a lovely weekend too Frank 🙂

    Like

    • Soma,
      OMG … your charging comment is priceless! I know summer stats go down, but it doesn’t mean I have to like it. I hope weather relief comes to your area soon. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  5. Blind Archer Sets New World Record before Accidently Murdering Eight–this one made me laugh but the more political Onion headlines were all good! My parents just celebrated their own Diamond Jubilee, and I feel so grateful that we can celebrate that with them. And about the stats, your remark is interesting. Mine are lower, too, but I can’t compare to last summer because I had just started up! I notice that several people I really enjoyed haven’t even posted this summer, so I guess there is more turnover than I would have expected. And I presume they aren’t reading much any more either! It’s challenging, isn’t it! Debra

    Like

    • Debra,
      Others have told me that summer seems to bring a dip in stats – but that doesn’t mean I have to like it! Congrats to your parents and their diamond celebration … and we should have a wonderful party AND great weather … it could be perfect weather because a front is passing through right now. So we are anticipating high temps in the 70s! Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  6. I’m with Three Well Beings. The blind archer one made me 😆 but so did this:

    Romney Stuck in Endless Loop of Uncomfortable Chuckling

    Congratulations to your in-laws! What a lovely wedding photo.

    Like

    • Spinny,
      I’ve been trying to take the high road when it comes to the ones regarding the presidential election … and they have had some good ones. I gave in this week, but tried to have some for both sides. I will pass along your congrats to the celebrated couple. Thanks for stopping by … and again, get to have you back in circulation.

      Like

  7. Well, what do you know, for the first time I am stuck when it comes to choosing the best Onion. I like them all, what a good selection.
    But I don’t believe the bit about the politicians not doing anything stupid for a week – come on!!!

    Like

  8. Loved the abtwixt article – thanks for the link. And hip hip horay for the rain. Here in northern Ohio it’s been a wonderful steady soaking rain all morning. It feels cool and refreshing. I hope you and your family have a great weekend.

    Like

  9. Thanks for the “Christianity and History of Science Infographic.” It was also interesting to read the Beliefs in the BioLogo website.

    Like

  10. As this is my day off, I am officially relieved of anything having to do with politics today. On sand and beach volley-ball players, I married a beach volley-ball player and the sand does stick…the marriage however, did not. 😉 Unlike your in-laws and congrats to them on their anniversary!

    Like

  11. I loved your in-laws picture! Fashion was great back then, the tea length dresses so wonderful, simple styles rather than the atrocities they wear today. Now this is a ‘take me back’ thing I could go for!

    Congrats to them for reaching their Diamond!! I think I read recently the new average is 3 years.

    The Onion, they are funny but not so much this week; well except for Venom providing medical benefits. I could see this as being true.

    Kathleen Parker uses dog whistles almost well, almost. She finds a way to cut both Hilary Clinton and Michelle Obama without drawing immediate blood. You almost miss it the first time.

    Nice Friday wind up, have a great weekend.

    Like

    • Val,
      Thanks for the congrats and I will get word to them. With the headlines this week, I decided to pick on both candidates. Meanwhile, I just carefully re-read the Parker column, and I just don’t see what you mean. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  12. Very sweet looking photo of your in-laws. Congratualtions may your celebration come together without a hitch.
    Lets see so many good headlines this week 1 2 5 and 7 too many to cut and paste. Number 1 Onion headline, I think they may be close to calling each other back and forth “No your a buggerhead.” “No no your a buggerhead.” Boy what year in politics.
    Glad your getting a break in the weather enjoy the weekend. As far as stats go my feeling is fall people will have more time to get on the computer. Mags will be back soon and others will not be so busy. I know summer has people going around in circles with one foot nailed to the floor. :+)
    I’m watching TV right now Mit just anounced Paul Ryan as the next President of the United States I about spit my coffee out. :+) He did correct the mistake opps.

    Like

    • Starla,
      Thanks for the congrats to my in-laws. The political theme led the way for my week in review of The Onion. Picking on both sides is a fun way to avoid partisanship.

      I realize stats naturally go down in the summer, thus anticipate an increase come fall, but it doesn’t mean I have to like it. Mags seems to have taken a month off, and I anticipate her numbers will rebound as it seems she has a strong following. I miss you quips here as well.

      I look at Mitt’s introduction mistake as a humorous glitch. Crap like that happens to all of us … including President Obama when he introduced Joe Biden. Yep – laugh and roll with it. Oh well … thanks for commenting for sending Navar to the hot air post. 🙂

      Like

  13. That is a new indoor record for our current congress. Generally speaking, there are two precursors to them screwing up: A: Coming to room temperature, and B: Showing up for work

    Like

    • Joe,
      Absolutely! They are quite the pathetic lot and unfortunately, I don’t see hope being just around the corner. Heck, I’m hoping the November election delivers split control so we can have more gridlock – just another way to use more gridlock to help the public slap them down so it eventually leads to a better tomorrow. Thanks for commenting and hope all is well in Lower Arkansas.

      Like

  14. I’m so fed up with the distortions, the out-of-context sound bites, and the outright lies of the political commercials that I realized I would not be able to vote for anyone if I were to take a vow not to vote for someone who endorsed/approved such trash. Instead, I’ve decided to vow not to vote for anyone who has taken a vow in regards to taxes or anything else of a political nature since it seems to me anyone who can’t or won’t change their mind about something, even when it’s the right thing to do, shouldn’t be in office.

    I noticed that stats tend to fall off during the summer. Everyone is busy enjoying summer, I guess. 🙂

    Like

  15. A delightful collection of interesting reads, Frank!
    For the Onion headlines, “Scientists Say Venom Taken from Politicians Could Provide Medical Benefits” is probably the least believable they’ve posted in a while. Something useful from politicians? Really?

    And of course, happy belated anniversary to your in-laws!

    Like

    • Guapo,
      My in-laws were impressed with all the greetings they received here from people they don’t know from across the globe. Fortunately, I didn’t have to explain anything. Meanwhile, the venom headline still cracks me up in the same light as you mention. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Comment with respect.

