Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 171

On Politics
There’s no doubt that President Obama’s inaugural address is more to the left. Although the GOP squawking about it is not surprising, I remind them that they spent four years focusing on the goal of “making sure he would be a one-term president” – so what the heck to they expect. Sorry GOP, reconciliation is in your court, not his.

Wow – House Republicans backing down from the debt ceiling fight is a huge surprise. Here’s an interesting read.

I’m still amazed to hear references as Fascism, Hitler, etc regarding the Obama administration. This time it was the CEO of Whole Foods.

Rep. Paul Broun (R-GA) isn’t much better:

I think my role is to uphold support and defend our Constitution, … The Constitution I uphold and defend is the one I carry in my pocket all the time, the U.S. Constitution. I don’t know what Constitution that other members of Congress uphold, but it’s not this one. I think the only Constitution that Barack Obama upholds is the Soviet constitution, not this one. He has no concept of this one, though he claimed to be a constitutional lawyer.

Regardless of the topic and the administration, here’s one thing that we can count on during Congressional hearings: one side is generally soft while the others proudly declare, “I am an ass.”

All the hubbub about Beyonce’s singing at the inauguration is a sad commentary in itself.

On This Week’s Headlines from The Onion

  • Nation descends into utter chaos following Dear Abby’s death
  • Lance Armstrong plan return to cycling as fan-hating villain
  • Russell Crowe praised for man who cannot sing in Les Mis’
  • List of politically achievable reforms down to just three minor changes to traffic code
  • Romney makes desperate last-ditch bid for presidency
  • Biden working through scratch-off tickets during Obama’s swearing in
  • Michelle Obama is not keen on President’s new bangs

Interesting Reads

On Potpourri
While Super Bowl XLVII is the first with two brothers as head coaching opponents – but here is the tie to me. Their father, a long-time NFL assistant coach, graduated from the same college as me – Bowling Green State University.

I have often said that biology teachers are in three categories regarding teaching evolution: Those teaching it well, those teaching it poorly, and those not teaching it at all. It seems this article supports my claim.

Cheers to my Cincinnati getting baseball’s 2015 All-Star Game. Too bad that Commission Bud Selig came to town for the announcement. I must say that I may like idiotic politicians more than him.

Check out the interactive Census Dotmap created by a MIT graduate student.

Yesterday’s post was about Word(s) – coincidentally, Harmonique and LouAnn at On the Homefront also posted about the topic – so give them a visit and tell them I sent you.

Good news – I will post a classic cartoon post on Saturday.

Bad news – I’m taking a short break after Saturday’s post.

To send you into the weekend, enjoy these images of the wonder of creation from deep space to the fitting music by Vangelis. Have a good weekend! In the words of Garrison Keillor, Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.

58 thoughts on “Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 171

  1. Well actually I’m not surprised that there is still fascism in reference to Obama. I used to live in Houston, Texas a few years ago and the conservative, right-wing people always made communist / fascist remarks about the Obama administration.
    As a European I have to say that this doesn’t make much sense to me though. In my opinion, Obama is doing a lot of things rights.

    Nice video. Thanks for sharing it.

    Like

  2. I get tired of the fascism references in American politics. Have these people studied history–living under fascism and under the Nazis was horrendous. It’s insulting to the victims that people throw these words around. Have a wonderful break Frank!

    Like

  3. Loved the first read, they failed to mention though withholding congressional pay is actually against the law! I think that is pretty funny.

    4 in 10? Gad that is really sad. The story on Biology in High School makes me want to gnash my teeth and fling myself off a tall building.

    The dot map is very cool. I am going to spend more time with that one!

    Love love love the Onion this week, you know I have a somewhat dirty mind and could go far with the last one!

    Love the story of Manakin Pis, funny!

    Musical offering was wonderful today Frank, thanks

    Like

    • Val,
      I met one of the authors of the biology teachers article years ago, and I trust his numbers on this because the topic is his passion. Lack of education on the evolution is more than a public education problem because many churches don’t educate their flock.

      This week’s Onion were a hoot!

      I very much appreciate you checking out my links!

      Like

  4. Yes – now another retail operation that I’ll be boycotting – Whole Foods. What an ass the CEO is. People and their talk about “fascism” really need a history lesson. And Rand Paul – he’s an embarrassing little twerp. The Republicans really need to get over it.

    Like

    • Good point about the history lesson. I just shake my head regarding Senator Paul. After all, Kentucky is in my media market, so I get his news.

      Here’s an excerpt from an editorial in today’s CIncinnati Enquirer

      “References to Hitler in public debate are usually counter-productive, unless the speaker intends a comparison to someone who was directly responsible for the deaths of millions of his own people and the near-ruin of an entire continent …. Playing the Hitler card obscures the real issues, stifles debate and plays to emotions.”

      Like

  5. Vangelis, one of favourite musicians in newages… I loved your selection. You know political matters are too big for my mind 🙂 Thank you, have a nice weekend dear Frank, love, nia

    Like

  6. I’m keeping well out of American politics. We have enough of our own in South Africa.
    My three picks from The Onion, are:
    “Romney makes desperate last-ditch bid for presidency.
    Biden working through scratch-off tickets during Obama’s swearing in.
    Michelle Obama is not keen on President’s new bangs.”

    Thanks for the laughs, Frank, and have a great weekend. Will you and your good wife be gracing the ballroom dance floor? 🙂

    Like

  7. Vangelis have done some fantastic music … and soundtracks. Great news to know that you have a president again and all pomp and circumstances went as planned. Wish you a great weekend.

    Like

  8. Very nice commentary on the fascism, Hitler comparison. I hear it all the time from the ultra Conservatives. This was my favorite – probably because I have zero respect for him now.

    Lance Armstrong plan return to cycling as fan-hating villain

    Haha! Love it.

    Like

    • Spinny,
      The ultra right needs to get a grip on reality and history. On a similar note, hope you saw the comment in my reply to Snoring Dog as it was something from today’s Cincinnati paper.

      Like

  9. Unfortunately I’m short of time today to look closely at all the interesting reads in your post. However I did look at the article on the debt ceiling fight at the Capital Gains and Games website. I look forward to reading more of their opinions.

    Like

  10. romney makes minor changes to traffic code. only because i was stuck between the two.

    as for classic cartoons, do you take requests or do you mainly follow those that you remember with fondness? have you done courageous cat and minute mouse?

    Like

  11. While I’ll miss ya, buddy, I am running a bit behind again – health issues, both in the sinuses and between the ears. So, in an odd way, I appreciate the help in wading through my blogload.
    Tahrir Square, 2011 and Tahrir Square, 2013 – same crowd, same chant. What a heck of a way to demonstrate “the more things change, the more they stay the same”.
    Looking forward to whatever you whip up tomorrow. Til then, have a good one!

    Like

    • John,
      The stuff going on in Egypt is very interesting … thus it will be interesting to see how happens …. or how long it takes for the dust to settle.

      Bummer that health has got you a bit on the down side. Meanwhile, hope my instructions are helpful.

      Like

  12. Wait just a minute. I am supposed to be the first commenter on your posts, right. Instead, I am, well not. Darn it!

    Hope you have a wonderful time. And I do believe that it is vital to the future of mankind that we all figure out just whether Beyonce lip-syced. Because we know she can’t sing. We know it isn’t really even a real song since nobody can possibly hit all those notes. We know that no matter what had happened on that day someone would come up with a lame-ass no-thing to focus on.

    Enjoy a break, Frank. But don’t stay away too long.

    Like

    • Debra,
      It will be interesting to see what happens to Armstrong over time. Meanwhile, the National Geographic link was a last-minute addition, so the fact that someone enjoyed it made me smile. Enjoy your weekend.

      Like

  13. Reading you while enjoying a lovely Sunday brunch with WW. I especially liked the MLK Nobel Prize Acceptance speech (I can’t remember ever reading it–isn’t that crazy?) One of my favorite lines: “I accept this award today with an abiding faith in America and an audacious faith in the future of mankind. I refuse to accept despair as the final response to the ambiguities of history. I refuse to accept the idea that the “isness” of man’s present nature makes him morally incapable of reaching up for the eternal “oughtness” that forever confronts him.” I’m going to make this my new mantra.

    I can’t believe you’re taking a break, by the way! What will I do without your sanity to keep me on the straight and narrow. Who will keep me from writing about the “nincumpoop”? 🙂

    Have a wonderful time–we’ll all be waiting for your return to keep us sane.

    Like

Comment with respect.

