On a Happy Tune

Another weekend passed, so how was yours?

Whereas last weekend was based on wine, this past weekend had two nights on the ballroom floor – including a wonderful Saturday evening event at Cincinnati Music Β Hall’s wonderful ballroom.

SkylineGreenMy wife celebrated a birthday on Sunday, so we went out to dinner Saturday night before the ball, then Sunday evening with her parents. Of course, we also had to celebrate St. Patrick’s day with green spaghetti – that is Cincinnati style. All this means we ate too much the past few days.

The week ahead looks like it could be a week of full posts, but you’ll just have to wait to see what’s coming. In case you missed it, last week’s Time: The Musical was a big hit with 70+ videos … thus a treasure trove for music lovers. Check it out!

In honor of my first venture into blog musicals, here’s a classic song-and-dance clip from the old days that delivers a good message. Thanks to Elyse for finding this Donald O’Conner classic. Have a good week!

46 thoughts on “On a Happy Tune

  1. Donald O’Conner, what a gifted dancer/singer! I had a great weekend, Frank. I finished that big project last week and got going on my vegetable garden. Planted tomato/basil/celery root seeds and cleaned out the raised beds and amended the soil. Ready for spring! Glad you had a nice weekend and Happy Birthday to Mrs. Frank.

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday, Mrs. Right Angle!
    Sounds like a good weekend, that will probably drive you back to the dance floor next week just for the exercise.
    Love that clip. Moses Supposes His Toeses Are Roses is my favorite comical one from that movie.

    Like

  3. I say no thanks to the green spaghetti … but yes to the happy tune: Make em laugh – brilliant track … even if I thought the video was a bit too childish for my taste. Happy to rest of your wife’s … days.

    Like

    • Viveka,
      The green spaghetti is a once-a-year treat. Of course I want orange at Halloween, red and blue on Independence Day, etc …. … and my wife will appreciate birthday greetings from Sweden – after all, half of her heritage is from there.

      Like

  4. Belated birthday wishes to your wife. It sounds like you both had a great celebratory weekend, Frank. I also had a very full weekend, foodwise. 😯 Sorry, no time to view videos at the moment. 😦

    Like

  5. Frank, that green spaghetti looks interesting… in a good way, although I don’t know if I could try it myself. They’ve mixed up some sweets over here now, with the green ones being strawberry flavoured… which to me defies logic.
    Oh, happy birthday to Mrs Frank, and I shall now be away with my confusion…

    Like

    • Tom,
      The green spaghetti did NOT taste green … not mint or veggies … just like regular spaghetti. Of course the rest of the dish is unique to Cincinnati.

      My wife has not yet seen her birthday greetings, but will appreciate greetings from across the world … so thanks to the UK.

      Like

  6. A happy start to the week, in spite of horrible weather here. Donald O’Connor is so great, though I must admit I gulp in horror when he stands on the piano keyboard! Never underestimate the power of the sound effects engineer with the funny bits.

    Like

  7. I started to comment at work and then they made me work. 😦 Happy Birthday to your wife. Yay! I just love musicals. When I was a kid I remember staying up late at night to watch Deanna Durbin and Judy Garland at 2 am on a black and white TV. I was just mesmerized and I loved it. Ugh… my cat’s puking… gotta go… Write on!

    Like

  8. Singing in the Rain – one of my all-time favorite movies! I’ve watched it a gazillion times. I used to sing to our young son every morning to wake him, “Good morning, Good morning, You’ve slept the whole night through!” Of course, I had the little guy watching this movie with me, and this scene with Donald O’Conner always put him him on the floor in stitches.

    Glad you had a great weekend, Frank. Happy belated birthday to your wife. You know, your life seems so exciting!

    Like

    • Maddie,
      Oh my wife will appreciate a greeting from a fellow Ohioan. I’ve had many comments about Singin’ in the Rain … hmmmmm …. Two weekends ago was wine focused, this past on ballroom …. and time will tell what next weekend brings.

      Like

  9. Your wife and I share a birthday month, Frank. It sounds like you guys had a great time dancing. I thought of you when I watched DWTS! And thank you for the “It’s Howdy Doody Time” clip, too! πŸ™‚ That song brings happy, very simple memories! I love the Donald O’Connor musicals, and this is a favorite! I love your musical interests.

    Like

    • Debra,
      We recorded Monday’s DWTS, but watched it last night. So of the early-to-goes sure identified themselves. Wow … I didn’t realize Donald O’Connor would be so popular! πŸ™‚

      Like

Comment with respect.

