On Wine and Music

Glass-of-WineWine and Music was the January 2013 theme for our church wine group. The organizer asked me for some ideas (which I provided), but I was hoping she wouldn’t select this particular because it may be difficult.

I did my research before the event just in case. Good news is they came through in flying colors! Below are the results of my research and what attendees brought. (I divided the names into categories).

Let me know if you have others!

Instruments
Trumpeter
Red Guitar
Flute
Chime
Brass

Sounds
Cacophony
Cadence
Revelry
Ovation
Song
High Note
Symphony
Concerto
Aria
Lyrics
Pitch
(Pasquier-Meunier) A Capella Red

People
BR Cohn (Doobie Brothers manager)
Dreaming Tree (Dave Mathews)
Blenheim (Dave Mathews)
Remick Ridge (Tommy Smothers)
Scaggs (Boz Scaggs)
Maestro Sanguineti

Names
Harmony Hill
Tenor
Il Cantante
Adegade Cantor
Deep Purple
For a Song
R&B Cellars

Songs
Que Sera
Shoo Fly (Don’t Bother Me)
Eroica (Beethoven 3rd Symphony)
Hey Mambo

36 thoughts on “On Wine and Music

  1. Love this post, Frank! We gave Red Guitar wine to all of our guitar playing friends one year for Christmas gifts – it was a big hit! As for songs, I think of “Red Red Wine” written by Neil Diamond and most famously recorded by UB40. Now that song will be going through my head all morning 🙂

    Like

    • Twixt,
      LOL …. interesting that I’m getting a reputation for asking for songs … but in this case, these (in the post) are actually wines … and the songs list are songs and wines. Nonetheless, here’s to you.

      Like

  2. What a fun project for your wine group. You’ve an incredibly talented researcher Frank. You always find the perfect video for every occasion! Even Neil Diamond singing “Red wine”…
    but why Beethoven 3rd Symphony? where’s the vino?
    I enjoyed the Billy Joel music – perhaps I’m in that kind of soppy mood. 😀

    Like

  3. This sounds like a very cool church. My girlfriends and I often do wine tastings together and it is such a nice way to experience new and different wines. Comparing them to music is interesting. How about ‘crescendo’ for that special wine that the others seemed to only be a buildup for?

    Like

    • Cyclist,
      From what I can tell, Sammy Hagar loves wine and collects as well … but not a producer … however we know he does tequilla!

      Meanwhile, don’t sell our church group short. If he was a wine maker and his stuff was in the store, odds are it may have been there!

      Like

Comment with respect.

