On Seeds

Seedsa seemingly simple biological design for promoting the continuation of a species that also displays beauty, yet its complexity also serves as a useful metaphor
DSC02115.

Knowledge cultivates your seeds and does not sow in your seeds. (Khalil Gibran)

DSC02063

.
If you can look into the seeds of time, and say which grain will grow and which will not, speak then unto me. (William Shakespeare)
DSC02070

.
Education is not the piling on of learning, information, data, facts, skills, or abilities – that’s training or instruction – but is rather making visible what is hidden as a seed. (Thomas Moore)
DSC02076

.
Every problem has in it the seeds of its own solution. If you don’t have any problems, you don’t get any seeds. (Norman Vincent Peale)
DSC02085

.
If you think in terms of a year, plant a seed; if in terms of ten years, plant trees; if in terms of 100 years, teach the people. (Confucius)
DSC02086

.
By cultivating the beautiful we scatter the seeds of heavenly flowers, as by doing good we cultivate those that belong to humanity. (Robert A. Heinlein)
DSC02064

.
Earth teach me to forget myself as melted snow forgets its life. Earth teach me resignation as the leaves which die in the fall. Earth teach me courage as the tree which stands all alone. Earth teach me regeneration as the seed which rises in the spring. (William Alexander)
DSC02089

.
When people learn no tools of judgment and merely follow their hopes, the seeds of political manipulation are sown. (Stephen Jay Gould)
DSC02112

.
Seeds of great discoveries are constantly floating around us, but they only take root in minds well prepared to receive them. (Joseph Henry)
DSC02110

.
Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant. (Robert Louis Stevenson)
DSC02069

.
Your heart is full of fertile seeds, waiting to sprout. (Morihei Ueshiba)
DSC02111.
The way to activate the seeds of your creation is by making choices about the results you want to create. (Robert Fritz)
DSC02105.
Seeds of faith are always within us; sometimes it takes a crisis to nourish and encourage their growth. (Susan L. Taylor)
DSC02108.
To see things in the seed, that is genius. (Lao Tzu)
DSC02107
I enjoy ornamental grasses, and these images are from my neighborhood. Do you have a favorite picture or saying here? If I didn’t list your favorite seed saying, feel free to share it.

73 thoughts on “On Seeds

  1. What wonderful quotes and pictures to accompany them. I especially like the Thomas Moore and Joseph Henry ones.

    By the way, I like the new look of your blog. (It is new, isn’t it? In the last week or so? If not, I’ll feel pretty foolish. Which will be nothing new…)

    Like

  2. Kinda a sucker for wild grasses, a dash of breeze, a pinch of harsh light on trembling wavering blades and I become pleasantly introspective – ‘seeing things in seeds’ though am no genius and am not smoking the seeds either. Enjoyed the images and all the quotes Frank, it had the ring of the Philosopher Ploughman; to which there is a lot going around lately – sign of the times perhaps.

    Like

    • Hudson,
      I must say, your prose held me in awe this morning … and a bit of a giggle as well. At times I like to dive into the philosophical side through either quotes or definitions. In the sidebar, see Categories > Words.

      Like

  3. Loved this one, Frank. Very simple, very fruitful.

    I had not heard that Shakespeare quote before, but I really appreciated it. (probably why you put it twice 😉 ). Kahlil Gibran too – he’s just great to quote, & Norman Vincent Peale, has been a while since I had read from him.

    This was great! And problems having in them the seed of the solution… just great.

    Like

  4. Hi Frank!
    Nice photos & inspirational quotes.
    My fave pic is the second to last one. I love the pov & how the contrast between the clouds & blue sky.

    All the flowers of all the tomorrows are in the seeds of today.
    Swedish Proverb

    Like

  5. Enjoyed this post very much, Frank… both the quotes and your illustrations. May you celebrate the fruits of the seeds you have planted, and celebrate the future generations that will go on to continue on your path.

    Like

  6. I don’t have a favourite seed quote though I probably should considering how amazing they truly are. We have two trees, a mulberry and a crab apple, both started by seeds dropped by birds. The fruit from the mulberry is delicious and plentiful, likewise the amount of fruit from the crab apple is so much that I really should have made jam. I was just too busy making and canning salsa.

    Like

    • Nia,
      Ornamental grasses are one of my favorites, and this time of year they show their brilliance. So I captured them, then the idea of the quotes came to me. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed this.

      Like

  7. I like this one “Don’t judge each day by the harvest you reap but by the seeds that you plant. (Robert Louis Stevenson)” Planting is good, but I marvel at the seeds and acorns that make it in this world. Out of all the acorns falling during this season just a very few become trees.

    Like

  8. Love this post, Frank. The photos, can’t choose a favourite, and I didn’t think I could choose a favourite quote, until I re-read William Alexander. That’s the one. Very nicely done, and greatly appreciated.

    Like

  9. Love the photos and the quotations, Frank. Interestingly, however, I’m not familiar with that Shakespeare quote. Like, LA, said, this is mellow post. Nice, every once in a while, isn’t it?

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

    • Kathy,
      I’m glad some are seeing this post as a change of pace. According to one who knows all, the quote is from Macbeth … and I listed the Act and Scene numbers in a reply to Hotly Spiced. Cheers to you way down there.

      Like

  10. Pingback: On a Walktober Town Walk | A Frank Angle

  11. Pingback: On a Walktober 2015 | A Frank Angle

  12. Pingback: On Walktober 2016 – A Frank Angle

Comment with respect.

