On Exploring Clouds and Skies

The sky is the daily bread for the eyes. (Ralph Waldo Emerson, Poet)

I’m an introvert… I love being by myself, love being outdoors, love taking a long walk with my dogs and looking at the trees, flowers, the sky. (Audrey Hepburn, Actor)

The bluebird carries the sky on his back. (Henry David Thoreau, Author)

Gray skies are just clouds passing over. (Duke Ellington, Musician)

The artist is a receptacle for emotions that come from all over the place: from the sky, from the earth, from a scrap of paper, from a passing shape, from a spider’s web. (Pablo Picasso, Artist)

Do you wish to rise? Begin by descending. You plan a tower that will pierce the clouds? Lay first the foundation of humility. (St. Augustine, Theologian)

The way of fortune is like the Milky Way in the sky; which is a number of small stars, not seen asunder, but giving light together: so it is a number of little and scarce discerned virtues, or rather faculties and customs, that make men fortunate. (Francis Bacon, Philosopher)

Once a month the sky falls on my head, I come to and I see another movie I want to make. (Stephen Spielberg, Movie Director)

Clouds do not really look like camels or sailing ships or castles in the sky. They are simply a natural process at work. So too, perhaps, are our lives. (Roger Ebert, Movie Critic)

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. (Rabindranath Tagore, Poet)

Before we invented civilization our ancestors lived mainly in the open out under the sky. Before we devised artificial lights and atmospheric pollution and modern forms of nocturnal entertainment we watched the stars. There were practical calendar reasons of course but there was more to it than that. Even today the most jaded city dweller can be unexpectedly moved upon encountering a clear night sky studded with thousands of twinkling stars. When it happens to me after all these years it still takes my breath away. (Carl Sagan, Astronomer)

Do any of these quotes about skies and clouds impact you? Do you have other quotes about skies and clouds that are special to you? Enjoy this spectacular video from National Geographic featuring California skies.

15 thoughts on “On Exploring Clouds and Skies

  1. Gorgeous video, Frank. At least it was until Sara yelled at me to stop streaming. Our internet is kind of slow this morning. Guess I was interfering with her efforts to work. Hope you are doing well, my friend.

    Hugs from Ecuador,
    Kathy

    Like

  2. The NG video is great art, as surely as any Van Gogh or Picasso painting.

    I have often reflected on the strange coincidence that I happen to have lived in a time so lush in experience. Science, literature, news, cinema, access to knowledge, and yes, art, seem to have culminated in a golden age of awareness. How strange then that none of this attenuates humanity’s more primitive natures to war and brutality. We simultaneously hear Carl Sagan’s wise observations while reading of Syria’s starving and dying masses. What a strange moral soup this is!

    Like

  3. This might sound a trite overly-done, but I don’t understand how we can be the way we are to each other sometimes – or the damage we can do the world we live in – when have an existence painted in those colours. These are our colours, right.

    Gorgeous video.

    Like

  4. Love the time lapse. One of the things I use to love more than anything was years ago when I lived in Del Rio, no big city lights to interrupt the big Texas sky. I would ride out into the country side (yes horse) and just watch the night, shooting stars and all. It was beautiful.

    Like

  5. I relate to Audrey Hepburn’s thoughts. I have always been a solitary personality, content to do things away from the madding crowd. It’s where I gain my peace of mind, it’s what keeps me centered. So yeah…I’m really thankful for the more agreeable weather. Communing with nature in my runs and walks, one of my favorite things.
    PS- Hope all is well with Aroldis. That was frightening.

    Like

Comment with respect.

