On a Figgy Monday

Greetings. I can’t believe it, but Saturday morning I saw snow flurries. Of course, that’s nothing compare to the eastern US. Otherwise, we had limited time on the ballroom floor because my wife was feeling well, so we stayed home to be greeted by the trick or treaters. We also went to dinner with friends before returning to our home for wine and chit-chat. With Sunday being All Saints Day at church, we were reminded of my mother-in-law who passed away last December. Toss in watching football and the tango formation practice, for us this was a low-key weekend.

How was your weekend? For most of us in the US, it was the end of Daylight Savings Time, so our clocks had a backward adjustment. Did you take advantage of the extra hour by staying up more or getting more sleep? Did you have good weather? Fun times? Restful? Were you productive? Come on now … give us the scoop.

Thanks to my readers for making October 2014 the second highest views in the past 21 months. Although I’ve learned to be less concerned with stats, i do notice trends … so thanks for a positive one.

Hooray … because Tuesday is Election Day in the USA, time is coming soon when our televisions get a break from the pathetic commercials.

Speaking of the elections, listen closely for those declaring the results delivered a mandate.

Celebrations for your week

  • (Week) Fig Week, Split Pea Soup Week, Patient Accessibility Week, Communication Week, Animal Shelter Appreciation Week, Give Wildlife a Break Week, Bird Health Awareness Week, Vegetarian Awareness Week, Chemistry Week
  • (Mon) Cliche Day, Fill Our Staplers Day, Sandwich Day, Job Action Day, Jellyfish Day, Housewife Day
  • (Tues) Chicken Lady Day, Use Your Common Sense Day, Candy Day, Waiting for the Barbarians Day, Skeptics Day
  • (Wed) Doughnut Day, Soil Day, Bonfire Night
  • (Thurs) Men Make Dinner Day, Saxophone Day, Nachos Day, Marooned Without a Compass Day, Basketball Day, I Love Nachos Day

Being Fig Week, a special shout-out to Raye (@ Jots in a Small Apartment) … after all, she enjoys eating and painting figs (as seen here). I encourage readers to visit her, and tell her I sent you. With figs on the brain, here are a few other Fig Newton commercials from the past. Let me know if you remember them. The second video is my favorite of the two, but you may have to watch it on YouTube.  Have a good week!

56 thoughts on “On a Figgy Monday

  1. I watched both those ads, and like you, prefer the second one – and I remember now why I gave up watching TV! Do you know we have those – or a similar product – here, but they are not called ‘Fig Newtons’ and I’m sorry but for the life of me I cannot remember what they are called…….. apart from not watching TV I also avoid eating factory made food. I know, I know, I’m a real party pooper!!

    I spent Saturday entertaining in my ‘garden’ enjoying a blast of summer-time heat …… Sunday, inside sheltering from an icy blast and yesterday Siddy and I went walking with friends on the beach enjoying a balmy spring day. We also indulged in a little Line Dancing just because we felt like it and there was no room to waltz!

    Like

      • No Frank, not Fig Rolls, not fig anything. I am going to have to try and hunt a packet down in the supermarket now just because I want to remember the name. I’ll let you know.

        The line dancing was great to watch – good to know it crosses all cultures and genres of music. [I was the woman on the right who kept getting lost.]

        Like

  2. You saw flakes! Am sure the result of a sinister Canadian Arctic Cold Front smuggled across the border by the notorious Eskimo Pie Gang. Sorry Frank.

    I discovered Jots via you. And I discovered you via Eleanor, And she from Desi. Infinite degrees of separation is Blogdom. An endless view into the cosmos of thoughts and perspectives. It is a good ride.

    Like

  3. I don’t remember either of those commercials, Frank, probably because outside of watching sports and SNL, I had pretty much quit watching TV by the late 70s. I can’t say I’m much of a fan of a guy prancing or dancing in a fig suit, but I do love fresh figs.

    Like

  4. I love figs, Fig Newtons and now I love the ads. I have never seen them before. I really like these corny old Ads.
    My weekend was spent closing Casa Debbio for the next few months. I go home to Australia soon. I will miss Italy

    Like

  5. I love figs too 🙂 Fresh and dried… How was my weekend? I just took rest after Baku travel, and I slept well that I needed. And did nothing 🙂 Yes, me! I can’t believe myself too… but I was really so tired. By the way my love has been flying right now to Cairo! A Business trip… Our Princess (cat) is being mad when she notices the luggaged in the home. because she knows someone will go… Thank you dear Frank, I wish you both a nice new week, love, nia

    Like

    • Nia,
      Many cheers for your safe journey, taking time to rest, and to your love for figs. Your comment about Princess’s reaction when she sees luggage made me laugh because we’ve had cats like that.

      Like

  6. Election day in America boggles my mind… im never sure what result the rest of the world wants to see…. just when a result is thought to be good for us it seems to turn out not so…. to me big money seems to rule your government and the voice of the people ignored… it may be a misconception and I hope I’m wrong… but good luck and happy voting and may the result br what you want…

    Like

    • Bulldog,
      US elections are about big money and the ideas behind it. Huge money. Contested Senate seats bring in huge dollars from outside the state …Huge!!! Heck, two years ago my current Representative unseated the incumbent with one person money from Texas … the incumbent had money, but didn’t spend me because she thought she was going to win, thus saving money for the fall campaign. Sure candidates have to raise money to finance a campaign, but outside money is playing the role of ignoring the people. Meanwhile, my hope is for productive leaders doing things what is best for the people … which means, which ever way the results go, I probably won’t like the results

      Like

      • We get such a one sided image from this side of the world… where we read one thing, only to see another happen… and this I always wonder about… are these people still responsible to those that vote them in or those that finance them.?? Can the people kick their arses out when they don’t perform?? I will probably never quite understand the American political set up, which seems so different to that which we follow… mind you in Africa I wonder if we have a system… the strongest always seems to win, and that is not strength in political terms but as in strong arms…

        Like

        • Although there are many similarities between the American system with other global democracies, the Founding Fathers sought some differences that muddle the understanding.

          As far as voting incumbents out … well … Congress has a low approval rating, but of the 435 races in the House of Representatives this year, only 38 (or so) are competitive … thus incumbents will win … therefore, people hate everyone members of Congress who aren’t their own … Meaning, it’s ridiculous! …. OK … money wins.

          Like

  7. Stayed up nearly all weekend, working on new writing project with initial obsessive zeal. On “breaks” I cleaned house and cooked, ate meals. Can’t believe the early snows–shall be grateful for 24 hr rain in Seattle area. Have a blessed week.

    Like

  8. I do not remember the ads. They are quite sad. My weekend consisted of rest and more rest since I went through another toe surgery. I did blog. Then when the eldest returned Sunday night I had her help my husband put the new furniture that I hate, and hurts my back in the basement and bring back up the old stuff. They only had to take the front and side doors off their hinges. I will make some slip covers in time.

    Like

  9. Snow, snow, I want snow!!!

    I kid you not, I literally filled my stapler up just a few minutes ago and then saw that it was Fill Our Staplers Day on your list! I’m so in tune with ALL the celebrations, well, one so far this week anyway. Bonfire night is a UK thing of course, so we’ll be doing that one on Wednesday. I also intend to embrace candy day and doughnut day.

    Like

    • Vanessa,
      Oh my …. you may be the most-tuned in person in the world!!!!! … Besides, I’m sure you could have a sandwich today, along with a cliche, use common sense on Tuesday, and eat Nachos on Thursday.

      Like

  10. Snow? Snow is a terrible thing. Snow means cold. Cold is a terrible thing. This is of course just my opinion.

    I am picking Tuesday as my day, can you guess why?

    I do not remember these commercials. They are pretty funny though.

    Like

  11. Congrats on your October 2014 stats! Keep up the good work, and MAY THE TRENDS BE WITH YOU!

    This week I plan to celebrate Chemistry Week and Saxophone Day. I’ll also be celebrating Skeptics Day, which in tern will prevent me from celebrating Use Your Common Sense Day.

    Like

  12. No snow out our way. Yet. Just lots of wind and clouds. I like the second commercial best, too. I remember that one (but not the first). I think I’ll celebrate Housewife Day, and I’ll be sure to tell my husband about Men Make Dinner Day. (To be fair to him, he did most of the cooking over the weekend due to me being under the weather so he really doesn’t need a special day to be the good guy that he is. He’s a good cook, too.)

    Like

  13. Down here in SW Missouri we escaped the white stuff, but we did get a nice hard freeze (24 degrees) sufficient to let me stop my allergy medication for this season, and the leaves are splendid down here this year!

    Being a bit of a fig ignoramus, you motivated me to bone up on the subject. Figs come from a genus of trees called “ficus”, on which Wikipedia has a page that told me even more than I needed to know.

    I found this of special interest:

    Figs have figured prominently in some human cultures. There is evidence that figs, specifically the Common Fig (F. carica) and Sycamore Fig (Ficus sycomorus), were among the first – if not the very first – plant species that were deliberately bred for agriculture in the Middle East, starting more than 11,000 years ago. Nine subfossil F. carica figs dated to about 9400–9200 BCE were found in the early Neolithic village Gilgal I (in the Jordan Valley, 13 km north of Jericho). These were a parthenogenesis type and thus apparently an early cultivar. This find predates the first known cultivation of grain in the Middle East by many hundreds of years.

    I haven’t eaten a Fig Newton since I was a kid (didn’t like ’em), but I probably ate some figs at a breakfast bar a couple of decades ago. But, anyway, thanks to you I’ve added a new word to my vocabulary: frugivore. My wife is one, but me, not so much. 🙂

    Like

  14. Gotta love figs…that’s what all the squirrels and birds in the neighborhood say as they swoop in and harvest the ripe ones before the tree owner can.
    It was a great sunny weekend – so nice I tossed together a post quickly for this morning instead of writing one over the weekend about the wonderful weekend with an air show over head, The German visiting, and assorted outdoor stuff. (Will get that post done shortly as the rain moves in….)
    Hey they are building one of those giant multilevel golf courses not far from here…getting to be like Disneyland – at least it’s not on our normal road routes. So hey, it’s just a great addition!
    Thanks for the videos and great start to the week

    Like

    • Mouse,
      Figs in Galveston? … now that’s something I didn’t know! Cheers to your airshow. We have a very large in in Dayton, but we don’t like the huge crowds and no shelter from the usually hot and steamy weather. … but a multilevel golf course? Oh wait … didn’t you feature an indoor venue some time ago?

      Like

  15. Every day should be “Use your common sense day.” 🙂 Had a very quiet weekend and the week is off to a cool start. Autumn has arrived in Florida. Bonfire night is the anniversary of when hubby and I met……49 years ago. 😯

    Like

  16. Sounds like you had a quiet, but nice weekend Frank. Only 24 kids showed up on Halloween, so Friday night was a bit slow – we had enough bags (9 pieces in each bag) for 60 trick or treater. We’ll be celebrating Candy Day, but best of all since it’s Split Pea Soup week – going to have to make some (yum)! Have a great week ~

    Like

    • Mary,
      For us, it was a lower key weekend than normal – thus a good change of pace. Halloween’s weather wasn’t good, but the rain stayed away. It was our first in this neighborhood, so we didn’t know what to expect.Enjoy your leftover candy … after all, I am!

      Like

  17. I heard there had been some snow Frank.. turned a might chilly here too.. Glad you were able to dance and keep your feet warm across the ballroom floor. My pick is Wednesday Frank.. Gunpowder treason and plotting are not my thing… But Soil day.. well you know me and the Earth go hand in hand 🙂

    Have a great week.. Keep warm and good luck on Tuesday with those Elections!… 🙂 Hugs Sue

    Like

        • The interesting thing about today’s election is that the stats show much of the electorate is unhappy … that is President Obama, Congress, the Republican Party, and the Democratic Party ALL have negative ratings … so I imagine winners declaring a mandate, which won’t be be true.

          Liked by 1 person

        • I don’t think many are happy with how we are ruled Frank.. Here too… The system is outdated and needs an overhaul ..
          We are seeing how people are now distrusting those elected.. And a huge scandal here over child abuse in local government children’s homes that was exposed which has been on going since the 60’s.. With top officials ignoring complaints made… In a Huge cover up… No one is believing the Truth of much of anything Frank.. Times are changing and with it is exposure to many things that needs to surface for the Public to awaken to how we are all of us governed. Have a good Day 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

  18. Not chicken day, but chicken lady day! Whatever could that mean? LOL! I love the 1977 commercial, and I definitely remember it. I couldn’t access the second one. You had a very full weekend, and that’s great. Mine was quiet–recovery from the week before. 🙂 Snow! Imagine!

    Like

    • Debra,
      On the second video, you may have to click twice … after the first click it will say something to watch on YouTube … and I think you will remember it and love it!

      The snow was nothing more than a few minutes of flurries … but still visible! YUK!

      Like

Comment with respect.

