On Satire Bits: Vol. 113

A mid-week cheer from Cincinnati. After several comfortable days, the weather is turning … then again, it’s November.

My week has been busy with enough personal errands that I’m behind on my visiting. Hopefully this won’t last long.

I forgot to ask on the Monday Morning Entertainment post, but did the news about Lauren Hill getting her wish to play in a college basketball game make the news in your area? I watched the player introductions (she was last), the opening tip, and her making the game’s first basket. To my surprise, she returned to the game and got the last basket. It was quite emotional to watch.

To close this post, it’s time for your mid-week dose of satire from The Onion. Which is your favorite? A reminder to try the Combo Challenge of forming your own headline from the words in the headlines below the pic from Getty Images. My Combo is at the end. Enjoy and have a good rest of the week.

Man brings son into office to see where dad emasculated

Asexually reproduced sea sponge worried she’s turning into self

Maybelline introduces new ideal-woman rubber mask to use in place of makeup

Weird new cereal sets tone for first weekend at divorced Dad’s place

Livestock happiest, healthiest attendees at state fair

George Clooney enjoys another rousing evening at home with mummified members of Rat Pack

Delta Airlines launches alumni magazine for people who few airline previously

Area Facebook user incredibly stupid

FDA recommends at least 3 servings of food with word “Fruit” on the box

Report: Standing at work can increase coworker’s disdain up to 70%

My Combo: Coworkers introduces divorced woman to man with George Clooney mask

33 thoughts on “On Satire Bits: Vol. 113

  1. I like: “Maybelline introduces new ideal-woman rubber mask to use in place of makeup.” Seems like that could come in handy. Of course, the pimples that break out underneath the mask will require special care of their own.

    Like

  2. hi Frank! my combo platter: Maybelline recommends FDA weird new cereal in place of makeup. that would make us look like the getty image…perhaps. ha-ha!!! 🙂

    Like

  3. I did hear news of Lauren Hill and what an emotional story, all at the same time as Brittany Maynard decided to die on her own terms. Both so young! Two young women have made quite an impact this week and I’ve been very moved by both of their stories. So I’m glad to have a little humor with the Onion. Thank you, Frank.

    “At state fair FDA introduces weird sea sponge cereal to incredibly stupid people for new food use in place of fruit.”

    Yum!

    Like

    • Debra,
      Good to know that Lauren’s story made it across the country. Brittany’s story is very touching as well, so thanks for the reminder.

      Sponge cereal … the perfect state fair announcement.

      Like

  4. Delta Airlines launches asexually reproduced sea sponge in place of makeup. I know it makes no sense, but the asexually reproduced sea sponge I had to work in somehow! How strange, Frank!

    Like

  5. Hi Frank!

    I didn’t catch the news on Lauren Hill. But – I haven’t been watching much tv / news lately. I was over with the political ads & such. Although not happy with results – I did vote & am glad that elections are over with.

    Anywho – my combo:
    George Clooney enjoys first weekend at state fair with mummified members of FDA.

    Like

  6. The Onion should be careful about giving people ideas with that Maybelline headline. I remember when Saturday Night Live did a satire about a razor with four blades – humor which no-one would take seriously – now a reality. 😦

    Like

Comment with respect.

