On Exploring Clear Skies

The sky is filled with stars, invisible by day. (Henry Wadsworth Longfellow)

Look at the sky. We are not alone. The whole universe is friendly to us and conspires only to give the best to those who dream and work. (A. P. J. Abdul Kalam)

Earth and sky, woods and fields, lakes and rivers, the mountain and the sea, are excellent schoolmasters, and teach some of us more than we can ever learn from books. (John Lubbock)

We are a nation of communities… a brilliant diversity spread like stars, like a thousand points of light in a broad and peaceful sky. (George H. W. Bush)

Whether as part of our natural surrounding or from the creativity of a fellow human, our world has so much to offer – thus the purpose of the Explore series is to give us an appreciative taste of those offerings. To me, the sky is a wonderful place to activate this series.

36 thoughts on “On Exploring Clear Skies

  1. Frank, this is where I came in a year ago. You grabbed my attention then with your holiday series about the universe and it looks like you are going to do it again! This is a beautiful video which reminds us to stop, look up and wonder! Thank you.xo

    Like

    • Pauline,
      Happy Anniversary! … ha ha … I couldn’t resist. Now that you mentioned it, I recall last year being focused on the universe. I can say that this year is more eclectic, but still one to enjoy. Time lapse videos of the night sky seem to capture my attention in an awe way, so I had to start the series with one. Thanks for sticking with me for a year!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The early shot in the video of the pole star had trailing images of the stars going around. I thought that was nice.

    Today dawns with nearly clear sky and 35˚. Looks like we will get out for a good walk under our skies.

    Have a good day…

    Like

  3. How beautiful! I can’t wait for the next installment.

    But it left out Maine, where the stars and sea meet at night — I’ve never seen so many stars as I see up there. 🙂

    Like

  4. Poetic, imaginative, moving visual abstracts…..remind me that it’s been awhile since I took advantage of my membership in The Cloud Appreciation Society (out of the UK, you probably know it). Thanks, Frank.

    Like

  5. I really liked the John Lubbock comment. It fits perfectly with my plans for the New Year. Wide open skies are linked with possibilities, with forging ahead, with new awareness. Anyone who has ever looked up at the night sky and seen more stars than it is possible to count could ever come away thinking that they are the centre of the universe. The sky is our reminder that we are down here, that we are finite, that we have a life to be truly lived and that what we do with that life really matters. A great way to start planning for action in the New Year Mr Frank. Tired or not after the festivities, its time to settle down and invest ourselves in the possibilities of the New Year.

    Like

  6. hey now, the condition one finds the skies kind of sets the tone of the day…life seems brighter somehow when the sky is happy, blue & sunny. lovely video, Frank!

    Like

  7. Beautiful video, Frank! I especially enjoyed looking at the stars through the redwood trees (in what looks like Muir Woods). Thank you for sharing it. We have an amazing view of the stars here in the Middle of Nowhere. I think I’ll go out tonight and look. 🙂

    Like

  8. Beautiful video, and I love to stare into the heavens. On the 26th we were really fortunate to see the International Space Station moving across the night sky. It was just amazing to watch and to contemplate all that it represents in technology and exploration. I am going to enjoy your new series! 🙂

    Like

    • Debra!!! …. and I’m hoping your life is returning to some normalcy … plus hoping Jay is doing better.

      Glad you loved this video. Glad you saw the ISS … amazing how fast it moves across the sky! … and it seems so close (well, because it is).

      Like

Comment with respect.

