On Satire Bits: Vol. 123

Hump Day is here! Hope your week is going well so far.

Cincinnati has been cold this week, but we avoided the latest winter storm. While we were on the light rain side of the front, a more than foot (31+ cm) of snow and a fierce wind pounded my sister-in-law cross-state in Cleveland. Then again, is see that Boston has had 47 inches (120 cm) of snow in the past 10 days.

Now that was one crazy ending to the Super Bowl, which meant cheers for Audra and Mo, but tears for LB, Danica, and Christy. Even more interesting if one examines the important of events in the playoffs.

I’m in the process of learning to use Google Docs for conducting a survey and examining the results. For those who can volunteer less than a minute for five questions, please complete the short survey here. IF you get an Error on submission, please tell me in a comment and identify your answer to the cartoon question. This information will help me determine if your response arrived. Thanks!

Reminder that the next post is last act of Life: The MusicalΒ (Act 17) featuring songs with memory, memories, remember, remembering, remembered, or remembrance in the title. Show time is Wednesday at 9:30 pm (Eastern US).

For this week’s mid-week boost of satire, I’m using The Onion’s archival vault to for a journey through each year of school. As always, for those desiring a challenge, make your own satirical headline from the words in the headlines below the image. For those desiring an extra challenge: develop a headline that has nothing to do with school/education. My Combo is at the end (for those who dare to look, which is done at the viewer’s risk).

Have a good rest of the week.

Kindergartener being groomed for line-leader position

First-grade teacher apprehends mysterious coat-room urinator

Second-grade music student goes nuts with cowbell

Third-grade teacher sighs, then helps lost cause with long-division problem

Fourth-grade teacher to polish speech that it’s not third grade anymore

Everyone still remembers time you threw up in fifth grade

Group of sixth grade boys discover pile of naked women in wood

Seventh-grade life science class grossed out by having to dissect horse

Eighth grade reading list heavily favors stuff that sucks big time

Ninth grader thinks Romeo and Juliet might just be her favorite play

10th grade class watches Ben Hur for two weeks

High school junior wishes they are a senior

High school couples prepare for post-graduation breakup

My Combo: Juliet to polish nuts of naked Romeo in woods

56 thoughts on “On Satire Bits: Vol. 123

  1. I’m not sure where I was going with this one but,
    “science teacher helps prepare High school reading list then goes nuts, sighs and remembers favorite mysterious naked women”

    Like

  2. Oh, the last act of the musical. Wow. You’ve been very dedicated with this. Will you have some kind of grand finale compilation? I’m sure it would a lot of music there. Stay warm, Frank.

    Like

    • Amy,
      Life: The Musical has been (about) a year-long endeavor, but it’s been fun … and the plan worked. I would love to compile all the songs into a post or posts, but time will tell if that gets done. Time: The Musical included an epilogue, so given the topic, one is possible with Life as as well. Meanwhile, plans for the next musical is underway.

      Like

      • I have been very busy Frank – lots going on and little time for my on-line life [sigh!] Fran is a character, she is an absolute hoot! [Do you say that there?] You wanted an Australian and she is a rare one πŸ™‚ You’re welcome !

        Like

        • Rare? Wow … you are being kind! πŸ˜‰ … and yes & yes – quite a hoot and we say that here. Well, your ears must not have been burning on my education series, so that’s good.

          Like

        • I’m sure I came by and read Frank, but had nothing further to add to my first comment. Interestingly I have recently had an email from a school in the Philippines asking for permission to use my curriculum [I wrote one in ’99 for Steiner Schools] so that pleased me greatly as it is for a ‘real’ education πŸ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

        • That’s awesome!!! … quite rewarding … I wrote one too, which was used to multiple staff in the school … and then a colleague used some of it after moving to another district. … but to be asked by another district is quite the reward!!!!

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Oops, I went right to the survey neglecting to read further thus did not identify myself in the cartoon character question. I did say I do not have a favourite and apologized, thus you should be able to find me. πŸ˜€

    Naked first-grade teacher favors mysterious coat-room teacher.

    Like

    • Sylvia,
      Crocodile tastes like chicken? Wow … now there’s a surprise. Doesn’t every uncommon meat taste like chicken? πŸ™‚

      I stepped outside of my blogging comfort zone with that headline! … meanwhile, thanks for the survey.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy Wednesday Frank! Forgot you were just south of me- glad to hear you didn’t get the snow! Ok – here’s my headline – “Kindergartener goes nuts with cowbell after watching Ben Hur for two weeks” (Must be something about Charlton Heston or maybe chariots) πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hey Frank, some game right? While we don’t have snow – tomorrow morning it is forecast to be 29 and then on Saturday we’ll be hitting 78. This is when the weather starts to get real dicey around here – hate tornado season. Over the hump day – yeah!

    Like

  6. “High school helps couples discover music in a urinator.”—Aw, that sounds lovely, doesn’t it?

    These headlines allowed for some pretty raunchy combinations! I tried to keep it clean. Loved yours though!

    Like

  7. See I hit these running at 3.21am Mr Frank, with bleary eyes and no cup of soul food/magic narf happiness (tea) in front of me because I have to walk Earl early (5am) and don’t want to be hopping down the road for the last kilometre of my journey. My brain is like elastic with no more give and then you offer up the perfect combination that I know my lax brain isn’t going to be able to match, let alone beat! You are the king of the combo’s Mr Frank. I salute you πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Debra,
      The survey was obviously an effort to use the tool, thus the twist on question. I’ve discovered that more that two respondents are related because of a common person in their family tree! πŸ™‚ This is my first attempt at this, which is actually practice for a survey I’m developing for the neighborhood.

      Like

    • Isadora,
      That’s funny … but outside the challenge because new headlines must use the words in the headlines I’ve posted. Oh well … better luck next time .. but it is a fun challenge. Just think nouns, adjectives, and verbs to get you started. … and glad that Romeo & Juliet made you chuckle.

      Liked by 1 person

Comment with respect.

