On a Day at a Museum

In late December, my wife and I spent the afternoon at the Cincinnati Museum Center (CMC). The fabulous day included two Omnimax movies, an exhibition, the holiday train display, and sometime in the history portion of the CMC … so here’s your chance to explore what we saw.

The CMC occupies Union Terminal. With its Art Deco, rotunda, tile mosaics, and architectural structures, Union Terminal is quite the building. In 2007, the American Institute of Architects listed this wonderful structure by placing it #44 on the AIA’s favorites of American architecture. Learn more about Union Terminal here.

Jerusalem, a National Geographic movie, was fascinating! We’ve seen most of the Omnimax movies through the years, and this one ranks as one of the best. The trailer is below, but here is the list of locations the movie is currently playing throughout the world.

Mummies of the World is a travelling exhibit that is currently in Cincinnati. The exhibit trailer is below, and click here for the exhibit’s main website. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find a schedule of future tour stops.

In the Omnimax theater, we also saw Mummies: Secrets of the Pharaohs. To me, the movie was OK and worth seeing, but doesn’t make my list of favorite films at the museum’s theater. Explore the trailer.

On our way to the holiday train display, the Cincinnati in Motion exhibit is a personal favorite. It’s a model of the city in the first half of the 20th Century. Life in cities during pre-suburbia and interstates fascinates me. The video below will give you a ride through the display, and you can see some images here.

41 thoughts on “On a Day at a Museum

  1. A day in art and culture – what could be more fantastic than that? The trailer for Jerusalem looks fantastic. We have an Imax theater here in our main museum. I am glad you shared your experience with us here, Frank!

    Like

  2. The train video was fun, Frank. I’ve always been a fan of model trains. When my siblings cleared out my parents’ house last fall after our dad died, they were so hoping to find the Lionel train we had in our youth. Mom seemed to hold onto everything, but that. Grrrrrrrrrrrr!

    Like

  3. Now Frank, somebody needs to tell IMAX there are more than six countries in the world! I should like to see that movie, though I may not like to see the political – social side of things. What a great museum you have there. I must go visit our local one again soon – I was trying to talk a disinterested friend into it the other day……. he wasn’t buying!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Pauline,
      I wouldn’t say that the Jerusalem movie was political …but it was cultural and historical. Then again, there’s only so much one can do in 45 minutes.

      Union Terminal (our museum’s location) was almost leveled, so serving as the Museum Center saved the building – which is interesting in itself. We took a building tour once, which was a pleasant surprise.We’ll be returning sometime for the current feature movie about humpback whales.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. My wife and I also enjoyed the National Geographic movie “Jerusalem” at the Cincinnati Museum Center’s Omnimax Theatre. What I liked most about the movie was how it gave me a visual 3-D image of the location of the Jewish Temple in relationship to the city’s ancient and present street layout and topography.

    Thanks also for leading me to the website of the American Institute of Architects. My father was an architect and I’m sure he would have enjoyed this link showing award winning designs from 2014: http://www.aia.org/practicing/awards/2014/architecture/

    Like

    • Tim,
      Glad you took Mrs. to the movie and that you enjoyed it. I didn’t realize that about your father … thus figured you were a 4th generation marching band director. Thanks for the interesting link.

      Like

  5. We used to go to the Franklin Institute regularly (we were members) when our girls were younger. We haven’t been there in a while. It sounds similar to the Cincinnati museum. It sounds like you had a great day!

    Like

Comment with respect.

