Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 294

Embed from Getty Images

This weekend our handbell choir is playing a nontraditional, beautiful arrangement of a traditional hymn – Amazing Grace. A piano is also involved, which for us is our director – so we will play without a director. For those who want to hear a recording, click here … besides, it could be the background as you read this post.

ABC announced the new cast of Dancing With The Stars … and the thought of Edyta rejoining the cast that includes Sharna and Peta has me smiling.

We enjoyed last weekend’s Grand Tasting at the Cincinnati International Wine Festival. We attended one event and volunteered at another. Total attendance for the three Grand Tastings was about 4,000 … and yes, my unofficial observation is that more millennials attended than baby boomers – thus affirming the statistic I recently provided that millennials have become the largest demographic group purchasing wine.

Act 4 of Colors: The Musical has — songs featuring green in the title. Cheers for another great effort.

I will have an Explore post this weekend.

I watched (last week) the first of a six-part series Race for the White House (on CNN). I enjoyed Part 1 about the Kennedy-Nixon race (1960). CNN replays Part 1 Saturday night, and Part 2 airs Sunday night, which featuring the Lincoln-Douglas campaign of 1860. Here’s the trailer for the series.

Embed from Getty Images

Next Tuesday gives us major primaries in Ohio and Florida. Votes are anyone other that the favorite son in each of those states is a vote for Donald Trump (R-NY). Rubio and Kasich wins would greatly increase the odds of a brokered convention.

I will NOT be voting in the Ohio primary. Ohio’s voting laws require voters to declare as a party member (at the polls), which remains in effect until the next primary … and I do not want to be associated with either party at this time … so I will be voting only on issues.

Recent polls indicate Mr. Trump losing head-to-head with the other Republican candidates. By staying in the race, the other candidates (Cruz, Rubio, and Kasich) are playing a game of chicken against each other.

A question for House of Cards fans: How would Frank Underwood deal with Donald Trump? Meanwhile, are you watching Season 4? (We’ve only seen Episode 1.)

I heard this quote myself … and listened several times to make sure … Senator Rubio: “I didn’t say what he was saying as I said it one time.” Huh?

Sen. Bernie Sanders (D-VT) winning the Michigan primary surprised me. After all, the six polls I saw had Hillary Clinton (D-NY) winning by double digits (11-to-23 point margin).

Embed from Getty Images

To lead you into your weekly dose of satire, The Onion explains how to meditate. 

Weekly Headlines from The Onion (combos welcome)
Horrified investigators find unresponsive legislative body in Capitol building
Zoo hosts contest to name baby of pregnant gift-shop worker
Prima donna species just has to have every part of natural habitat intact
Antique store celebrates 750,000th ‘Oh, Just Looking’
Alien parasite can’t find way out of fat astronaut
Report: More women losing weight with elective bone-shaving surgery

Interesting Reads
Winston Churchill’s spectacles
WW II American airmen
Meat and the brain
Downton going green
(Pictures) Award-winning science photos
(Podcast) A brief history of school discipline

Here’s 2-fer to lead you into the weekend – a leftover from Act 4 and a unique version of a Beatles classic done by a strings duet. Thanks to Cathy (@Large Self) for introducing me to Acoustic Eidolon. Have a safe weekend and in the words of Garrison Keillor, Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.

35 thoughts on “Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 294

  1. I read there wasn’t a single poll showing Sanders winning Michigan. Further, Clinton’s lead was indeed double-digits in most all and the closest one anyone found still had her up by five percentage points. Which is …why they “play the game”…

    Like

    • Bruce,
      Good sports analogy … Yep, best team or the favorites don’t always win … just have to be the best team on that day. Yesterday, I looked at many of the polls for OH, FL, and NC … will be interesting to look at them Tuesday night/Wednesday morning.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Love House of Cards! It’s my escape. I know he would get rid of Trump somehow. Bernie was a big surprise. I heard an interview with Ben and Jerry — now I want to try the ice cream they created for him!

    Like

    • Amy,
      I haven’t seen Bernie ice cream, but I understand it built around the idea of mint chocolate chip … I’m all in for that! … on the downside, I will compare it to Graeter’s.

      Like

  3. That’s a beautiful ‘Amazing Grace’ – I know you’ll enjoy playing it [even with your director on the piano!]. About Eleanor Rigby… when you have a great tune it’s hard to go wrong! Here’s another version with an exceptionally talented woman singing, Youn Sun Nah: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vTQDVY3EEy0 [I think you’d enjoy this too: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=43OO1AQvIuM – her voice knows no bounds!]
    Here’s to a great weekend ahead! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Marina,
      I thought you would enjoy this bell arrangement …. You’ll will like this tidbit. In rehearsal, we were struggling staying together with each other and the director … and her thought was the church’s music director would direct this piece while she played. Then after several weeks, she finally went to the piano, and surprise surprise … it started coming together … so the decision was no director. … I’ll return later after listening to Amazing Grace.

      Like

  4. The handbell version of Amazing Grace is beautiful. I’m listening to it now (one of the cats seems to like it, too).

    My husband and I love House of Cards–we’ve watched the first two episodes of the new season. We’ll probably watch more this weekend. Frank would have dealt with Trump in some way, I’m sure. 😉

    I have no idea what the quote from Rubio means.

    Like

  5. The read ‘Brain food: Clever eating’ by Sujata Gupta, which includes the quote “You would need to eat a massive amount of spinach to equal a steak” (Christopher Golden, ecologist and epidemiologist at Harvard University in Cambridge, Massachusetts), leans too far toward the meat industry for my tastes.

    The BBC read “The 20 best science images of the year?” has a question mark at the end because WHO BUT A SCIENCE PERSON would display those images in their house?

    If Sen. Bernie Sanders (D-VT) winning the Michigan primary surprised you, would it surprise you even more Bernie weakening Hillary Clinton so much in a drawn out primary battle for the Democratic nomination, that Donald Trump ends up the leader of the free world?

    Nothing close to a splat today, but “Antique store celebrates 750,000th ‘Oh, Just Looking’” was duly noted.

    Like

  6. Frank! I’ve been missing in action around blogland lately and missed reading your posts. Sounds as if the wine festival was great. Those millennials are everywhere–now they’re drinking all the wine! That won’t do. :). There was one here last weekend, I think. I think one of the lunches with some kind of wine people was over $600. For a wine lunch tasting. I could buy a lot of wine for that and determine tastes all on my own. ;). But I’ve been to a couple in other places and really enjoyed them.

    I’ve not seen House of Cards though I’ve heard it’s great. It can’t be anymore less believable than real politics. Maybe everyone should vote for that guy–Kevin Spacey, though I’ve heard he’s not a very nice man–in the series.

    As far as quotes from politicians, they are intentionally meant to be indecipherable. That way one is left wondering, wait, am I for this or against this? Do I agree or disagree? See where I’m going with this? It’s a circus. It really is.

    I hope you have a lovely weekend!

    Like

    • Brigitte,
      Personally, I hate it when life gets in the way of blogging … but it happens. Welcome back.

      Here’s a situation with the Grand Tasting here. It’s a combination fund raiser & marketing event. You get a nice glass to use and keep … an ID bracelet … 2 1/2 hours … an a room with about 600 wines. Are you ready for that? 😉 … There are also restaurant events featuring the same vintner for all courses .. they run about $150 per person .. not for me. … In terms of the Grand Tasting, I volunteered again this year, so for my time at one event, I get to attend for free!

      House of Cards is a lot of fun … and so ruthless. Meanwhile the 2016 campaign is more than Barnum and Bailey could ever deliver! Crazy … absolutely crazy.

      Like

  7. Love this upbeat version of Eleanor Rigby. Cello and acoustic guitar are so magical together. Your hand bell rendition is delightful. I’m sure it will be very much enjoyed this weekend. I shudder to imagine what ‘elective bone-shaving surgery’ might entail. 😕 Happy weekend to you and the missus. 🙂

    Like

  8. We both know Frank Underwiod would have had Trump taken out, Jersey style. He would have him buried in the Pinelands in pieces. There’s no doubt in my mind he would have not shown up for one of his rally’s.
    Great choice of music, Frank.

    Like

  9. All the canidates suck. They take the polls by asking every five person that passes. I was a poll taker for CBS years, years ago. We asked if they were democratic or Republican then we would ask who they voted for. I was young and didn’t care. The people would tell us the voted for A and when we counted the polls A wouldn’t have any votes. That’s why the polls can’t be trusted.

    Like

  10. I had to keep this one up and refresh it several times just so I could come back and read all your offerings! I don’t think I have a favorite this week Frank, though the WWII pictures were fascinating, I loved them.

    The handbell arrangement, stunning in its beauty. I listened more than one time. The rest of your selections, loved those also.

    Zoo hosts alien parasite species of unresponsive legislative body.

    Like

    • Val,
      Regarding the handbell recording, although it was the best I could find, some of the intricate undertones weren’t heard in this recording. We played it at two services this morning, and many enjoyed it.

      I too enjoyed the pics from the article about the WW II airmen. Meanwhile, the resourcefulness of zoos continues to amaze me. Well done!

      Like

Comment with respect.

