On an Unexpected Beauty

Knowledge is soon changed, then lost in the mist, an echo half-heard. (Gene Wolfe, writer)
Music is the harmonious voice of creation; an echo of the invisible world. (Giuseppe Mazzini, activist)
Embed from Getty Images
Fame is the echo of actions, resounding them to the world, save that the echo repeats only the last art, but fame relates all, and often more than all. (Thomas Fuller, clergyman)
If you’re in a forest, the quality of the echo is very strange because echoes back off so many surfaces of all those trees that you get this strange, itchy ricochet effect. (Brian Eno, musician)
I recently saw this 5+-minute report from CBS News about a place that is old, but special – simple, yet complex – beautiful, yet haunting. All this equals a sum of amazing. Enjoy.
22 thoughts on “On an Unexpected Beauty

  1. As a physicist, I found this to be very interesting. Once in a while I find myself in a unique place with special sound qualities. I stop to play with it. These folks are fortunate.

    I am posting my comment from my desktop computer. Sometimes I use my iPad to view your posts via the WordPress app. Your posts almost always cause the app to freeze. I have to force it to quit and start over. It’s not a big deal. Just kind of odd. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I had seen the story about the water tank. Isn’t it something that while a bit of an eyesore, it creates something beautiful. I guess it goes to show that you can’t cast off something too quickly as it might turn out to be a treasure.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i’d also seen this story of the water tank but I enjoyed watching it again! It is beautiful. I rally enjoyed the quotes you shared, Frank. The tone of this post leads me in a direction I’m willingly following right now. I am immersing in beautiful music and peaceful sounds (water, wind chimes, birdsong) to favorably balance the jangling negativity that seems to be getting louder by the moment. I enjoyed the “unexpected beauty” of this post.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Debra,
      The fact that you watched it again and still found it special made me smile … as well as your kind words about the tone fitting you at the moment. Good knowing my effort in finding the right quotes were successful.

      Like

Comment with respect.

