Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 334

Cincinnati Zoo image

This is one of the first family pictures of Fiona with her parents (Harry and Bibi). For whatever reason, I see The Simpsons in this photo. Fiona continues to make great progress as well as integrating with her parents. For more photos and information, see these short updates from the Cincinnati Zoo.

Thanks for writers and readers involved with the Footprints Challenge. I appreciated the variety of the 14 stories (to date), which included 3 from newcomers (a pleasant surprise) – although my intent was not to expand my audience. A toast to the Canadian contingent that provided 5 stories. Special thanks to Dale who read and commented on all the stories.

If all goes as planned, a beach walk should return next week.

We recommend the movie Baby Driver. It was fun, fast-paced, and action-packed, and loaded with music accompanying the action.

Embed from Getty Images

The Middle East has been an unsettled mess for many years. Here are three articles worth readings: by Marc Ginsberg, by Aaron David Miller, and by the Washington Post.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (RJA-KY) says that (if the Senate bill fails) he will have to work with Democrats to strengthen the health care insurance market. I have two comments: Too damn bad, Mitch … and … No shit, Sherlock.

Yes, gerrymandering of district lines is a problem now, and has always been a problem. Democrats complaining about it forget they are also guilty; and Republicans forget they would also be complaining if the Democrats did the same thing.

I found this statement more than odd when I first heard it and it has stuck with me ever since. “Russia, if you’re listening, I hope you’re able to find the 30,000 emails that are missing.” (Donald Trump, July 27, 2016)

Got to love this one. President Trump recently described his performance as having done “more in five months than practically any president in history.”

Embed from Getty Images

To lead you into this week’s dose of satirical headlines, The Onion explains how to recover from embarrassing situations.

Weekly Headlines from The Onion (combos welcome)
Mariana Trench once again named worst place to raise a child
New iPhone app alerts users to imminent sidewalk collisions with other iPhone users
done more in five months than practically any president in history
Blindfolded taste test participants keep knocking over bottles of soda
Late-arriving guest encouraged to load up on food that has been sitting in sun for past 4 hours

Interesting Reads
European migration with Europe
Contrasting capitalism: Apple and Google
The underwater world of Antarctica
The road of 1000 stories
Big Ben: The bell
(Photos) Weird but amazing bridges

For your weekend entertainment, this is not my favorite mashup of dancing scenes from old movies, but it is a lot of fun – and Justin Timberlake’s Can’t Stop the Feeling fits. Enjoy! In the words of Garrison Keillor, Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.

28 thoughts on “Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 334

    • Patti,
      The “Interesting Reads” is one of my favorite sections to gather for this series … especially when I have someone who finds something among the rumble. Cheers to you enjoying the video.

      Like

  1. Hi Frank, I can’t comment on dt without going into a rant, so I won’t. 🙂 This made me laugh, “Mariana Trench once again named worst place to raise a child.”
    I have to go back to the story post. I had one, but I got sidetracked by work. I’ll see if I can still add it and read the rest.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fiona and her parents look Marvelous!

    The comments by Donald Trump and Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell made me gulp and look forward to another Beach Walk next week.

    A hard copy of the information in the read “European Migration Within Europe” will accompany me when I visit the EU Headquarters in Brussels, Belgium in Oct.

    “Why not call him Big Ben and have done with it?” – and now I know.

    Splats from the #’s 1, 2, and 4 Onions.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jim,
      Hey hey hey …. you are still around! 😀 …. The movie clips takes many of us back to another era because we remember the days … so you didn’t find anything of interesting in the Interesting Reads pile? …. How have you been?

      Like

      • Around I am, Frank. The wife and I have been busy lately, including a vacation trip to Maine. We visited our favorite place, a lovely inn in the Boothbay Harbor region. The facility is on a peninsula pointing south and so, faces west, overlooking a scenic island. Sail boats, lobster fishermen, quiet walks. The sunsets were terrific and the weather fabulous, highs 70s and lows 50s. The place also has the best restaurant in the area.

        This was probably our last trip there, not just because we are getting on in years but because of the hassle that travel has become. That in itself was an adventure. We flew from Joplin via DFW and Reagan National to Portland and then rented a car for the remainder of the trip. TSA was a bit of a hassle – I had some extra screening because of my metal hip joint, and of course every plane was 100% full. On the way driving back to Portland from Boothbay we were delayed because I couldn’t find the release button for the gas tank. Turns out, our new Toyota rental didn’t have one! The gas door becomes unlocked automatically when the engine is turned off and opens by pushing on it. Who knew? I had to google the operator’s manual on my iphone to find this out! We made our plane with nothing to spare. It started boarding just as we walked up.

        Glad to hear from you, Frank. I am still catching up on things but when they quiet down I will again be looking forward to your posts and your interesting reads, which I have long enjoyed.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I thought Mariana Trench sounded like a person with an unfortunate name because I have always heard the deepest part of the ocean referred to as the Marianas Trench. I googled it and Mr. Google gives both names as appropriate so I guess that goes into the you learn something new every day category.

    Like

  4. It seems, accidentally but very appropriately, “done more in five months than practically any president in history”, has been pasted among the Onion headlines.
    Also, Marianas Trench can’t be such a bad place to raise a kid. I hear it has a lot of fish, so the schools must be amazing.

    Like

Comment with respect.

