On a Victory Cigar

I had a local radio station on to listen to the Reds game while in the car Tuesday. Therefore, that same station was on when I got in the car Wednesday morning. In general, I seldom listen to AM talk radio, however, what I heard after starting the car caught my attention.

The Tuesday game was the one that clinched the division for the Reds on the Jay Bruce home run. The caller complained about the television stations showing some players smoking cigars because that was a bad influence on his kids. Plus, he was going to call the state of Ohio to file a complaint against the players and the club for smoking in a public facility.

I realize the guy is clueless, must not believe in using teachable moments, and must constantly look elsewhere to identify the problem instead of using a mirror – but is he a poster face of today’s American society?

An Addendum
The Cincinnati Enquirer has this story that states a smoking complaint hotline received five anonymous complaints. I assume the complainers were not in the room and probably not near the stadium.

4 thoughts on “On a Victory Cigar

    • 3rd Stone,
      I know Ohio has a non-smoking law, and yes … they broke the law. But I can’t agree with the complainers in this case … and I have a difficult time believing any of the complaints came from non-smoking advocates on the Reds team. And to think this story made it to the national news …. another reason for the nation to shake their head at Cincinnati. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

  1. I don’t think Cincinnati looks bad here as much as the growing mentality that it’s a good thing that the state can dictate our actions–actions that used to be personal. That’s scary.

    Like

    • Jose,
      Much of Ohio’s smoking law came from a voter-decided issue, but I’m not sure how much of the law came from that. Thus much of the state’s dictation was mandated by voters — of which I find even scarier. I simply not big on voter referendum legislation.

      Oh well … .thanks for commenting.

      Like

Comment with respect.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.