Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 88

On Japan
Last Friday we awaken to the news of the earthquake and tsunami in Japan. I encourage everyone to donate to an organization that can provide help.

Blessings and God speed to all the courageous workers fighting the issues at the Fukushima nuclear plant.

Meanwhile, a few continue to refer to the calamities as a punishment from God. Good news is that is NOT the God that I trust.

On an Interesting Signs
Not all that long ago, I was on I-65 south of Louisville, Kentucky, and then saw this interesting sign: Used Cows for Sale. I find differentiating cows as new and used as a bit odd, but also humorous – and I believe that the humor is the sign poster’s intent. If you are ever on I-65 in Kentucky, watch for this sign on the east side between mile markers 78 and 79. Meanwhile, a few hours south along I-65, there also a billboard for Big Jim’s Boobie Bungalow.

On a few Political Shorts
A recent Washington Post poll reveals that Sarah Palin has a very high disapproval rating. Well – there’s a shock, so did we really need the Washington Post to let us know?

As we listen to all the budget talk, let us remember that our legislators will continue to protect the sacred cows of their district and those of their financial supporters. Meanwhile, all their hoopla focuses on about 12% of the budget, thus avoiding the remaining 88% like the plague.

Columnist David Ignatius had this worth-reading piece about the situations about the demonstrations in Arab countries.

On a Rise and Fall
Last fall we vacationed in the Charlottesville, VA area. (FYI: A wonderful area) A friend, who frequently visits wineries in the area, recommended wineries for us to visit – including the Kluge Estate Winery. I’m glad we got there in October because soon thereafter, things started to happen. See this article from Forbes.

On March Madness
The madness of the NCAA tournament has begun. Within two hours of my house, tournament teams include Cincinnati, Xavier, Ohio State, Louisville, Kentucky, Butler, and Morehead. For me, I’ll be happy as long as ABK wins … anybody but Kentucky.

Meanwhile, the drought goes on for these schools since their last tournament appearance: Bowling Green (1968) Ouch … that one hurts; Columbia (1968), Tennessee Tech (1963), Yale (1962), Maine (never, eligible since 1962), New Hampshire (never, eligible since 1962), Dartmouth (1959), Harvard (1946), Army (1948), Citadel (never, eligible since 1948), Northwestern (never, eligible since 1948), St. Francis (N.Y.) (never, eligible since 1948), and William & Mary (never, eligible since 1948).

On the Flooding Ohio
Last weekend we were along the Ohio River, with its flooding waters and fast rate of flow. Not only was it a reminder of the days of my youth as I grew up in a small town along the river, but also of the dangers. Very close to our hotel, the water dislodged one of the floating restaurants. Fortunately, it didn’t go far as it hit a bridge and become lodged; plus all the patrons were safely removed.

On a Different Event for the Weekend
Last week I we attended a handbell convention. Definitely an interesting event, and between rehearsals and workshops, there wasn’t much down time. Try to imagine what a 670-member choir might sound like. The video below will give you an idea, but it only has 420 ringers. Have a good weekend.

10 thoughts on “Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 88

  1. First off, good to see you, Frank, as always. Hope all is well on your end of the world.
    You want humourous signs? How about “Big Jim’s Militaria and Bait Shop”. It was (sadly, no longer is) a real place – I got a bunch of my early re-enacting gear from there. It was a dismal little concrete block building with almost no windows, few lights inside (flashlights were an absolute necessity), and up front where he rang you out, he had several glass-front soda-display-style refrigerators full of – your guessed it – bait. From what I understand, his bait sales paid for the militaria. Never heard why he went out of business. Guess that’s the way the worm turns. 😀
    On a far more serious note, I’d like to add something about the workers at the Fukushima complex. Basically, as of late Monday/early Tuesday, they were beyond the point of survival. This is an excellent demonstration of that prototypical Japanese trait, the spirit of Kamikaze, and I do NOT mean that as an insult. In WW2, the pilots who tried, on purpose, to crash their planes into our ships, were not the suicidal psychotics more typical of today’s terror bombers. They gave up their young lives, their futures, everything they had, in the faint hope that their tiny sacrifice would somehow save their fellow countrymen from the American onslaught. Like them, the nuclear plant workers know they are dead. They have surrendered any hope of survival to stay on site, doing what they can to protect the people of Japan, and the world. They are true heroes, as much as soldier who throws himself on a grenade to protect his fellows. They are the little-mentioned reason why the situation is not far worse than it is, and we should take a few moments and pay honour to them. I pray that Japan, and indeed the world, does not forget these brave men.
    Finally, one other small note of bravery. This week saw the passing of one Frank Buckles, the last surviving American to see combat in World War 1. With him dies the last touchstone we have with that great war, once dreamed of as the end of armed conflict forever, that key event at the start of the 20th century that shapes our world even today. As so many events of the past weeks wash over us, from the Middle East and North Africa, to New Zealand and Japan, we should pause a moment, and remember Frank Buckles, the last of a generation that gave us the so-called Greatest generation.
    And now, Frank, I will return the controls to you. Thanks for letting me hijack your blog! 😉 Have a good Friday, and an outstanding weekend. I hope you have overcome whatever hardships have bedeviled you these past weeks, and that your way ahead is blessed with clear skies, fair winds, and most of all, peace and quiet.
    Take care, my friend! 🙂

    Like

  2. The thing about donating to my church is I know that 100% goes to relief efforts, etc. I hate when I donate to somewhere, and they take a percentage of the donation.

    And yeah, there was this disturbing YouTube video…this girl was saying how she fasted about the atheists and the earthquake happened. WTH? That’s just odd, praying for a disaster. I’m Christian, a Mormon, as you know – and I would never sit and say that God is punishing people. That’s horrible!

    Like

    • Mckenzie,
      Great point about the donations. Here’s what we’re considering: Donating to the Red Cross because the donation would qualify for matching funds. On the other hand, a Lutheran resource is a very high percentage going to the efforts, but it doesn’t qualify for matching.

      On the other topic, (yesterday) a family member told me that the disaster happened because God is angry. I simply shook my head, and made my point about earth’s forces. I like this quote from a faith writer Bill Tammeus.

      Plates in the earth shift, causing earthquakes, which in turn cause tsunamis. Period. If you want to look for God in all this, look among the rescuers, the people providing comfort and aid, the ones holding the country’s hand as it weeps and mourns.

      Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  3. SUCH SAD NEWS in Japan.
    My brother has loads of friends there, having lived in Tokyo a decade…hope they are all OK

    BUT I do hope we, the human race, are learning nuclear is not the way to go as an energy resource now

    praying they avoid meltdown and screwing up the planet more than it already is

    Like

    • CCC,
      Both sad and amazing stories out of Japan. Videos are shocking. Interestingly, the nuclear facilities handles the 8.9 quake, but the tsunami is what caused the current problem. Nevertheless, a critical situation. Thanks for commenting.

      Like

      • Hey Frank!

        I’ll be sure to stop back next week to catch up on your latest gem. Please say a prayer for the University of Connecticut Women’s Basketball team as the NCAA Women’s Basketball Tournament continues to unfold. Go, Huskies, Go!

        Meanwhile, H/T to your Ohio State men’s team…it’ll take an “A” game from someone to beat those guys.

        Like

        • Hi Al!

          One thing for sure, the OSU basketball team is very good. I’m not a big OSU fan by any means (as aren’t many Cincinnatians), but I will give them credit. As I said, I’m not a Buckeye fan, BUT, I will be tonight as they face Kentucky b/c I dislike no other team in sports than I do the UK Wildcats.

          The UConn women have had a long-run that is only comparable to the great mens teams from UCLA in the 60s-70s. The locals here where pulling for Xavier, put the ladies just took it on the chin.

          Have a good week, and hope all is working out for you.

          Like

Comment with respect.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.