Opinions in the Short: Vol. 105

On Politics
Several weeks ago, I told a friend that Congress would not raise the debt ceiling unless some sanity from the Senate side step forward. Although that has happened, there is still plenty of time for the House Republicans to screw it up.

As the GOP continues to talk about their version of the 2010 election mandate, I saw several polls this week that Congress continues to have a lower approval rating than President Obama, and a high percentage of people disapprove of Republican obstinate ways.

Joke of the week: Cut, Cap, and Balance legislation

Thank you Spinny for this Ronald Reagan comment about the debt ceiling. This is worth the one minute it takes to listen.

Interesting Reads

Here’s a hoot of a headline from the LA Times

It’s Week 28 of the Boehner-led House without a jobs bill. To quote Speaker Boehner, “Where are the jobs?”

On Potpourri
Congratulations to Atlantis and its successful last voyage of the Shuttle. Good luck to the 8,000 employees who have lost their job.

I found this interesting USA Today piece about a Cuban Catholic bishop.

Given the release of summer movie blockbusters as Harry Potter, Captain America, and The Undefeated Nincompoop, theaters are packing them in.

I stumbled across this interesting site that I look closer in the future: Center on Economic Policy and Research

My shoulder has strengthened enough that I can start limited use of the golf driving range – but it’s too damn hot now!

After starting the procedure in July 2010, this past Monday I finished the tooth implant procedure. Then back to the dentist Wednesday morning because I popped off an onlay while flossing.

Although I am for from reciprocating at the moment, I appreciate the continual visits from many of my regulars.

It’s Baseball Hall of Fame Induction Weekend in Cooperstown. (Sadly, a place I have yet to visit.) In honor of the inductees, here’s a former Yankee playing a baseball song on a smooth guitar. Enjoy – and have a safe weekend.