On the Nightmarish Debacle

Embed from Getty Images

That’s the view of Cincinnati as one approaches from the Kentucky side of the river on I-75. Paul Brown Stadium is on the left – home of the Cincinnati Bengals.

I didn’t plan this post, but events in recent days motivated this post. Some are curious on my take of the craziness that was the Bengals-Steelers game at the stadium this past weekend. After all, some readers told me they thought of me during and after the game. So, pardon me as I stray from my normal routine in order to get things off my chest. My audience isn’t sports-based, but they know I enjoy sports.

It’s been interesting to read and hear the trashing aimed at the team, it’s coaches and players, the city, and the fans. I try to go beyond the surface where most of the comments reside. Most of the national press doesn’t tell the reaction here … the reaction by the fans, players, coaches, and writers. Actually, the news here has been much deeper and profound than most of the commentaries from anywhere else … and certainly including the Pittsburgh paper that I’ve purposefully read.

To loyal fans, this loss not only hurt, it left us frustrated and embarrassed. After all, we’ve been waiting for the next playoff win since 1991. Bottom line – the Bengals lost, and the Steelers won. Since the game ended, the city, the fans, the coaches, the players, the organization, those attending the game, and anyone I’ve left out has been battered and bruised by many … as if losing wasn’t enough.  So here’s a Cincinnati perspective – a reasonable one – an honest one – and one not filled with fan bias.

Two Bengal players lost their composure. They let their emotions overcome professionalism. No excuses because one must take responsibility for their own actions. Take the Bengal who fumbled late in the game. He’s feels the weight of all the subsequent events on his shoulders – yet accepts the blame.

A Bengal player who made the flagrant hit on a Steelers receiver near the end of the game. Unnecessary and horrific! The NFL suspended him for three games – but for this fan, that is not enough.

Referees are responsible for controlling the game, enforcing the rules, and protecting the players. The referees tried to control the game, but they let get away from them by the judgmental decisions they make. There were two clear instances of Bengals being targeted with helmet-to-helmet, but neither called. Helmet-to-helmet contact is in the rules, but like any rule, enforcement is left to the judgment of the enforcer. These misgivings by the referees increased tensions, not defusing them.

Are coaches responsible for the actions of their players? Absolutely, but not totally. Coaches don’t run, pass, catch, or tackle. They don’t interfere, jump off-sides, or fumble. They try to teach players the right way. It’s important they create the balance for a competitive environment. In the end, it’s on the players to execute their tasks and be responsible for their behavior. Bengals Coach Marvin Lewis is a respectful coach, and he certainly isn’t about disrespectful and irresponsible behavior. I wonder if those head coaches even exist.

A certain Steelers assistant coach frequently harasses opposing players … and on the crazy play in the final 30 seconds, he was on the field around Bengals players (yes, a clear violation of Rule 13, Section 1, Article 8). For whatever reason, no penalty was called (another referee judgment that would have offset the second Bengal penalty during the incident.). Keep in mind that when this coach was a player, referees threw him out of a game before it even started.

The NFL has created a macho-fan culture that leads to disrespect, harassment, and even violence. It’s not just in Cincinnati, it’s league wide. Finding fan-on-fan incidents is easy, let alone the throwing of batteries, beer bottles, snowballs, and whatever is available – and let’s not forget verbal abuse. The NFL, in their ever-pursuit of maximizing revenue, scheduled a playoff game between two bitter rivals on a Saturday night – thus creating an opportunity for an all-day tailgating experience. Not a good idea.

The majority of the players on both teams are good people, thus are not representative by the stupid. Anyone thinking that the Bengals organization is a house for thugs is extremely misinformed. Outside of the game, more players make the news because of bad off-the-field behavior than good – but those players are a small percentage of the whole – and this is true in all NFL cities – so is the fact that the good guys get involved in the community. After their playing careers are over, many stay in that city and remain good examples. Others return to their hometowns to build a successful life.

The majority of the fans in the stands are good people, not represented by the people jeering or throwing objects at an injured player. Sports fans can be terrible, and anyone thinking that bad fan behavior in the NFL is limited to Cincinnati is either naive or misinformed. As do the majority of fans across the nation, Cincinnatians condemn the behaviors of the few.

In the end, I think about these what-ifs. What if the Steelers  assistant coach would have been penalized, and the Steelers lost the game?

  • Would there be talk about the Steelers head coach who couldn’t control two assistants who received misconduct penalties?
  • Would anyone be talking about the two Steelers players who danced on the field while a Bengal player lay motionless on the ground?
  • Would anyone be talking about the Steelers hits to the head if they were called?

I think not … but as I said to others starting the day after the game, there is a lot of blame to go around on this one – and they all should not be pointed to Cincinnati. Interestingly, Cincinnati has owned up to their role – something that none of the other parties have done – not the NFL, not the referees, and not the Pittsburgh coaches, players, or organization.

66 thoughts on “On the Nightmarish Debacle

  1. Excellent post, Frank.
    It was a difficult game to watch on so many levels. One of the more bizarre endings I’ve seen recently. But you’re right, there is so much blame to go around beginning with the NFL and the culture they’ve created.
    I’ve been a Giants season ticket holder for forty years but haven’t attended a game in two years. While I still watch, I’m not happy with th NFL, it’s sense of greed without regard to safety , the way they allow tailgaters to continue drinking inside the stadium and then send compromised drivers out on the road with no regard for the safety of their fans. The list goes on. But it’s a machine right now and as much as they knew how nasty this game was going to be, they didn’t try to defuse it. On the contrary, they promoted the violence. As a result, the ratings were through the roof and the game became a storyline for all the wrong reasons.
    I’m sorry the fans of the Bengals had to endure yet another agonizing loss and that a few jerks in the stands makes fans in general look bad.
    Hopefully next year….

    Like

    • George,
      Thanks for chiming in with your experience. There’s no doubt that the NFL is a machine … and they know it. On a related note, Concussion is worth seeing.

      This post doesn’t fit my audience … and I don’t anticipate many reads or comments – but these thoughts have been bouncing in my head the past few days … I just had to get them out. I started writing in the late afternoon … did a few edits … but I’m sure there are many errors – however, timing is also important.

      Thanks for reading, commenting, and supporting my premise.

      Like

    • George,

      Frank urged me to check out your comment and I’m glad I did. You’re right on, of course. The league is so disingenuous in the way they package their product as a family friendly experience. I wonder how an afternoon game that is flexed into a night game can be deemed ‘family friendly’. And how all that alcohol consumption BEFORE the game even starts can somehow work in harmonious concert with three and a half hours of emotion and eighty thousand fans AND more alcohol consumption inside the stadium (league sponsored, of course). But the league is expert at looking the other way, and the fact that it’s a cash cow means more of the same as time goes on.

      I’m no prude, just consistent. If you present me with something that clearly isn’t what you say it is, I’m gonna call you on it. If the league claims it is the ultimate fan experience, incidents like the one in Cincy should be the exception rather than the rule. Fans pays a lot of money to attend these games, at the very least they should be assured they will be able to root for their teams without fear of reprisal.

      Nice comment, George.

      Like

      • You’re absolutely right, Cayman. If people want to enjoy the games and have a drink I don’t have a problem with that. But I’ve sat in the stands with my kids and had to listen to abusive language and pulled them away from fights going on around us because someone had an opposing teams shirt on or were too drunk to realize they were acting like fools. There’s certain stadiums you wouldn’t consider walking into with another teams apparel for fear of being attached by juiced up fans. The NFL does nothing to curb that, mainly because the beer companies are major sponsors. So to make an attempt at safety, that take our water bottle caps so we don’t throw them onto the field and injure anyone. I guess they feel bottle caps are more dangerous than full or half empty bottles of beer.
        But as you know…that’s all only the tip of the iceberg. The NFL is a hypocritical machine and it shows no sign of slowing down.
        Thanks for writing.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I am not a football aficionado, or even sports enthusiast, but I overhear enough to understand that behavior and sportsmanship are often not the upheld value in professional sports. Alcohol and rabid fans certainly don’t mix well either. I’m really sorry that things turned sour and what could have been an exciting game leaves such a bad taste!

    Like

    • Debra,
      Thanks for your input because you bring an innocent ear to the conversation. I agree, behavior and sportsmanship aren’t inline on the field of competition … and fan behavior also crosses a line. In this case, I was simply tired of much of what has been said about the game – both here and elsewhere.

      Like

  3. Wonderful post, Frank. So nice to hear your informed voice of reason on this. I have to admit, my perception of the Bengals hasn’t been good, so thanks for posting your views here, and reminding me that there are many who are culpable for the whole “debacle.” Hopefully a few good lessons have been learned (hopefully).

    Like

    • Kelly,
      Warranted or not, perceptions are what they are .. yet can serve as a misdirection. There was a time when this franchise had too many with questionable behaviors, but that’s not the case now. No NFL team has a roster of choir boys, but each roster is loaded with high-character players – who also get mischaracterized by the actions of a few.

      Yes, many lessons to learn here by many —- but I’m not confident anything will be learned. Maybe a little here – but as a whole for the NFL, I tend to doubt it because of the numbers who see it as only a Cincinnati problem.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve watched the NFL over the years, but gave it up a few years ago in large part due to this type of thing. The violence and violent emotions seem to have no end.

    I was not aware of the teams that are playing in the playoffs until someone at the office listed them yesterday. Nobody can deny the athleticism and remarkable effort from the players, but I’m so happy not to watch anymore. It was very liberating to drop this sport.

    Like

  5. I guess I should reply, eh?

    First, the post is well written.

    Unfortunately, the real point you are making is it’s all on the NFL. The players, the refs, the greed. Anybody who’s watched an NFL game this year knows the refs have been terrible. Yes, the NFL is a huge non-profit money churning monster. Yes, the game is rough. What do you think, “Welcome to the NFL” means?

    But.

    As my old mama would say, “Two wrongs don’t make a right.” Or, three, or four, or five.

    Whatever the NFL’s failings are does not give the fans any right or excuse to throw stuff at an injured player. Or, to force the opposing team to run off the field surrounded be security staff members and wearing their helmets. Oh, they were liquored up you say? That’s a matter of self control.

    Or, are you really saying something else?

    Yes, that’s happened in other locations and with other fan bases. But, not to the extent that it happened last Saturday night.

    You can write all that you want, but I only know what I saw. I’m a visual guy, remember? And, this was well beyond the pale of any other “nasty” game. Spreading the blame isn’t going to work this time. Those fans were flat out vicious. And, there were more than less of them. Urinating on people? Indeed.

    BTW, I guess your gonna have to link me up. I read the online versions of the local papers. I can’t find the city saying anything about accepting blame.

    Oh, and the Bengals themselves? I guess a bunch highly paid men just broke under the pressure. Oh well. It’s happened to better men than them.

    Like

    • Ray,
      Of course you should reply, and you are welcome to do so!

      I can’t see how I used two wrongs to make a right. I didn’t justify the fan behavior you described – I encourage it – I deplore it! I’ve seen that behavior when the Bengals are on the road in Pittsburgh, Cleveland, and Baltimore – but that doesn’t make it right. Poor fan behavior is throughout the NFL. Comments in this post include people on each coast mentioning behavior … .on the other hand, no matter the city, those incidents represent the minority of fans.

      I surely don’t support the actions of Bengal players that marred the game – especially at the end.

      Again, I stated there was a lot of blame to go around, and I made my case. One doesn’t have to agree, but I will say this – I’m unquestionably not wrong.

      Like

      • Here’s the problem. There isn’t a lot of blame to go around. No matter what happens on the field there is no reason for fans to react badly. They aren’t playing the game. Besides, in this case, the team did that for them. In many ways, fans have little or no clue what happens after the game is played. There’s a curtain that they will never be able to open. They get confused. When they discuss a team, they use the word, “we,” to which my first thought is, “oh, I didn’t see you on the field. What position where you playing?” That said, we are discussing one location, not Baltimore. And, I still say if you want order then punish the people who did the most harm.

        Like

        • I continue not to take up for the idiotic fans at this game. However, you did say (earlier) that you hadn’t seen this before – thus my reference to other cities. Then again, I don’t say that to justify this behavior here, which I continue to say is unacceptable. Whereas you point is about the fans here, solely here, on this day … I understand that – but – my point is about the situation as a whole and the factors that led to various situations.

          Since you want to punish 65.000 people, how many bottles did you see thrown? One? Two? Ten? Hundreds? Thousands? You don’t have to answer that.

          Like

        • I’ll be happy to answer that. The whole bottom level was throwing stuff. That’s what I saw. That’s why security surrounded the Steelers player when they ran off the field. You are doing exactly what guilty people do. “Well, everybody else is doing it…”

          Like

        • The whole bottom level means there 25-30K participants … so the police should cite every ticket holder seated in that lower bowl – thus get the names from the Bengals (who would have most, if not all).

          Like

        • They would? How? I say once again, just shut the stadium for one or two games. The city pays the revenue loss. After all isn’t there some old saying about the needs of the many outweighing the few? In this case, it’s just reversed. That would send a powerful statement to everyone involved. Or. maybe the team should just move. I hear St. Louis needs a new team. 🙂

          Like

        • If your eyes saw the entire lower level throwing things, finding out the people in those seats would be possible .. at least most but daunting. Proof is another story because I have not seen any footage showing everyone in the entire lower level throwing objects.

          Meanwhile, your approach favors punishing the restaurants, hotels, vendors, bus system, the city county (losing venues & paying for the club’s lost revenue), and all the workers involved in those activities. Interesting, especially considering the evidence.

          Like

        • Why not? That’ll get everyone’s attention. That’s the point. I doubt it would happen again. The thing about spreading the blame is that nothing ever gets accomplished.

          I did. Throughout the game. Certainly not at one time. The bottom level looked like they wanted to be a quarterback. The playoffs are actually the only time I pay close attention.

          Like

        • Makes no sense to me, especially with the lack of evidence … so now you are saying 25-30K bottles/items were thrown on the field during the duration of the game. I can’t see the evidence for that either. … We agree to disagree.

          Like

        • I give up. It just isn’t that important to me. In any city that’s a crime. Yet you continue to defend it. You can parse and split hairs and spread the blame all you want. Fine with me. Hopefully some football player doesn’t get hurt next time. Who dey, indeed.

          Like

        • Oh, nonsense. You’ve been trying to spread the blame for a week. First, it was the NFL’s fault. They scheduled a game at night. They are trying to make money. Terrible. Then it was the refs fault. Yeah, the refs have been bad all year but I doubt you could do better. Then it was the players fault. “oh, they were hitting each other too hard.” I doubt you would do or say anything, but maybe try to blame some team that didn’t play. Maybe it’s Kansas City’s fault. Maybe it’s Cleveland’s fault. Maybe it’s my fault for even watching the game on television. Sheesh, Maybe it’s Boomer’s fault. He played once.

          Like

    • John,
      Thanks for coming over for this one. Unquestionably, both teams played hard on both sides of the ball. Wow to the intensity. Which at that level is needed, and the best players play close to the edge, and the very best are the ones who can control themselves.

      I would like to see sports return to the Paul Brown method – act like you’ve done it before. Act like you’ve sacked the QB before. Act like you’ve made a good tackle before. Act like you scored before. …. In other words, make the play then move on to the next one without bringing attention to yourself.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have to admit, I wasn’t aware of what was going on. The sports section is the one I skip in the paper, and I don’t pay much attention to it online either. I’ll have to get more scoop from my hubs. But you’re right–bad behavior happens all over. It is not exclusive to a certain team or that team’s fans.

    Like

    • Carrie,
      You may pass the Sports page, but you recognize that bad behavior in sports is not exclusive to a team or even a sport. I still stand that the majority of fans and players throughout the land are good … but everyone can improve on sportsmanship.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Like Carrie, I don’t stay up on sports and the sometimes bad behavior of its players and those involved. I’ve never quite understood the hoopla and the enormous amounts of money thrown at this rather barbaric sport. It reminds me gladiators! But you, as always, are the voice of reason. Perhaps if more took this stance, it could lose its reputation for the perceptions I and maybe others have about it.

    Like

    • Brigitte,
      It OK not to be a fan. Actually your analogy to the gladiators also crossed my mind – especially after seeing Concussion (in the afternoon of the game). … and fan behavior fits the image we have of those times as well … and oh my, the amount of money involved is crazy! OH well … thanks for taking the time to read and give your feedback.

      Like

  8. Hurrah for you! Last Saturday’s game WAS a nightmarish debacle for the City of Cincinnati, which is why, in my opinion, you decided to jump in and write your post today. One can say all they want about what we witnessed being “a black eye on the NFL,” or “a few idiots in the stands,” or “poor officiating,” but the bottom line is that Cincinnati is a cultured and kindhearted place where last Sat. people were horrified by what they saw far beyond the score at the end of the game.

    The people of Cincinnati look toward the Cincinnati Reds as the example of a world class professional sports franchise where the players work hard, play by the rules, shake their opponents’ hands after a game, and avoid purposeful injury or extreme violence. Call me naive, call me idealistic, call me stupid, or all three, but I believe that about Cincinnatians with all my heart!

    Following is the way Paul Daugherty starts his column in this morning’s Cincinnati Enquirer on lack of sportsmanship as the root cause of the problems in both the NFL and college football:

    “On the first play of the college football national championship game Monday night, a Clemson sophomore cornerback named Mackensie Alexander made a nice open-field tackle on Alabama wideout Calvin Ridley. Alexander celebrated the takedown by standing over Ridley for several seconds and yelling at him.

    The first play of the game.

    Just stop it.”

    Like

    • Tim,
      Thanks for your input. Sportsmanship is something that I didn’t address, but athletes love to bring attention to themselves for doing something that they should be doing and something they’ve done before … a gladiator in the Coliseum mentality.

      Like

  9. My husband watched the game the other day, and was routing for Cincinnati. We had a bad fan incident here last summer during a baseball game in Toronto – fans throwing beer bottles, and one hitting a baby. It was quite insane and so uncalled for. It must be some sort of crowd mentality as to why in certain instances, fans behave horribly.

    Like

    • Catherine,
      That incident in Toronto is horrible! … and (sorry to say) that incidents like this aren’t limited to football .. and to think baseball is generally more sedate than more fast, action sports as football and hockey.

      Like

  10. I am not a football fan (at least not of the American variety; I do like soccer), but did wonder about your take on the game (my husband watched it and I saw bits and pieces).

    Like

  11. What ai know about NFL could be written on a postage stamp, but I had a quick read about what happened and it sounds like there was absolute mayhem. Really shocking behavior. I’m not surprised you need to get it off your chest, Frank..

    Like

  12. I was disappointed for the Bengals and I saw the game in the same way. Joey Porter jawing at Jones and Jones getting the penalty when he responded is just ridiculous. The Steelers got away with rough hits earlier in the game and the refs decided enough was enough when the Bengals responded in kind. Very frustrating.

    Like

  13. Read the entire post. Well,what can I say… I like half time shows.
    I seem to watch the Blue Jays when thy are winning, and I like the big world Hockey Cup because Canada usually does well. I’m what you call a fair weather fan!

    Like

  14. I saw the game and it was very hard to watch – players on the field, the coaches, and the unhappy fans. Totally perfect storm of horribleness.
    Part of the problem is the NFL being soft on bad behavior of players on all the teams, not stopping all the dancing and celebrating for every little thing ( seriously – bad sportsmanship and just gets all the players into a competition of showmanship) It’s supposed to be a game – not a theatrical performance. Forget the fines, bench some of them so it hurts the team – peer pressure might help after a bit.
    Fan behavior is tricky. Not sure why it got so bad this time. Could have been anywhere. But there seems to be an increase in fan/parking lot violence – may be the tailgating starting too early….sure would be bad if it wasn’t safe to take kids any more
    All I can say, is hope the page turns and next season is better in multiple ways.

    Like

    • Mouse,
      “Perfect storm” … that’s a wonderful phrase for this debacle. I was trying to say that many things came together for the perfect storm, thus – a lot of blame to go around.

      Fan behavior is tricky, yet fans (like anyone else) are responsible for their own behavior. Fan-on-fan violence is a problem in the NFL – in and out of the stadium – especially during and after the game.

      I haven’t been to an NFL game in ten years of so – but had a season ticket in the 1980s – What we observed the last time drove away an urge to want to attend again .. and yes, why take a kid there … let alone considering the price involved.

      On-the-field sportsmanship and respect could serve as an example for the fans – as opposed to all the attention players bring to themselves, which in term excites the fans while serving as an example of acceptable negative behavior. I think you will like this from a columnist here. http://www.cincinnati.com/story/sports/nfl/bengals/2016/01/12/doc-footballs-epidemic-needs-cure/78694268/

      Meanwhile, and sadly so, I don’t see the NFL and football as a whole changing.

      Like

  15. I had heard much of this and simply scratched my head. I also watched social media as fans from both sides trash talked, finally I stopped watching. Coming from a family of boys, many of whom are idiots when it comes to their favorite teams I have learned to stay out of the way this time of the year. I concur with your analysis Frank, entirely. The game has brought out the worst in some people up and down the line. It is unfortunate.

    Like

  16. Yanno, when you commented on my post and asked me to stop by with the proviso that I may not agree, I was intrigued. But Frank, I could not agree with you more. One of the many things I had a problem with were all the ‘experts’ who insisted the refs had done everything they could have done. I don’t think they did. The refs knew the history of these two clubs and there should have been something akin to a ‘brushback pitch and you’re outta here’ mandate put on BOTH sides. The stakes were higher than ever, they HAD to go preemptive and they did not.

    As for the hits on Bengals players, I agree again. One does not make the other okay, but again, consistency…uniformity equals fairness. Tell both sides to chill and call it tight from the get. No professional game should EVER be decided by anything other than what happens between the lines during play. And Joey Porter coming out to check on Brown? How’s that possible when he was ten yards down field getting into it with Jones? Porter was out there for one reason and one reason only.

    Lastly, fan conduct. There is no fan base that has not experienced a nadir moment, and the league plays into this despite their claims to make every game a safe/family friendly environment. The league plays look away, allowing for emotions to ratchet up to fever pitch. And then they throw their hands up in angst and go “There was nothing we could do!”. Having stopped going to NFL games, period, I did so because my experiences in three different venues proved pretty much the same. Giants Stadium, M&T in Baltimore and the old Veterans Stadium in Philly (horrible). Fans drinks early and often, and then you pack them in a stadium at fever pitch and ask that everyone be on their best behavior.

    I could go on and on, but really, just wanted to say how sorry I was about last weekend’s game. Cincy is a great sports town, and I’ve no doubt this will serve to bring these fans together.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Cayman,
      Thanks for coming over and chiming in. Great description of how the NFL encourages, looks away, then throws up there hands. Perfect. Thus one of the reasons I don’t believe the NFL really cares about player safety. Maybe the Competition Committee will see these plays (and others) say no helmet to helmet … take the damn judgment out of it!

      Thanks for verifying that fan behavior is what is in the NFL … and not just here.

      Like

  17. Excellent post Frank. You touched on so many well-thought-out points. I am going to do this “off the top of my head” since the game was now several days ago…and I’m sure I’ll be all over the map on the alleged logical order the comments should come in…I feel for the city of Cincinnati. I have been anti-Marvin Lewis for years now and if you dive into my archives you’ll see I have had no love for him at all. I think he should have been gone long before now. That being said he did a solid job this season and I truly felt, even with Dalton’s injury,this might be the year they advanced deeper into the post-season. The Bengals fans have seen so much heartbreak with this organization which really succeeds in spite of itself at times. I feel badly for Cincy. To assign the same crew that let these two teams swing away just a few weeks earlier – in the same venue – was absurd. That crew also was ranked fourth fewest when it comes to handing our “behavior” penalties. They had no business working such an intense game….maybe not working any game for that matter. The NFL seems to have no taste for ejecting players. At least in college if there is a targeting call a player may be removed from the game. Instead, they would rather leave the player in the game to potentially do the same thing again, keep the player around for competitive balance and then possibly fine them the following week. The league has to start throwing people out of games period…including coaches. How Joey Porter of all people – not a model for sportsmanship as a player – was allowed to go on the field and bait Adam Jones into a penalty was just as stupid as Jones’ actions. As for the head-to-head situations you simply call the penalty, eject the player from the game if it looks severe and then let the replay officials help determine if the ejection stands like in college now. No one is going to take this stuff seriously until you start throwing players out of games. You start taking chess pieces off the field, you get the chess masters thinking of better ways to keeping it from happening. It is absurd that potentially paralyzing or ruining a guy’s shelf life equals fifteen little yards. As a Philadelphian, we always make news with ESPN when something happens fan-wise here because they hate us. If the Philly fans acted like the Cincy fans they’d still be talking about it. I don’t think anyone thinks less of Cincinnati because a few people threw some cups onto the field. Geez, after everything the Bengals faithful have been through that scene was pretty serene from what I could tell…except the bloodbath that was allowed on the field of course. The whole game was chippy and – again – you have to do more than throw flags. You have to throw players. Out.

    Like

    • SportsAt,
      Welcome first-time commenter … and I noticed some familiar people commenting on your blog.

      Even removed over a week, I still stand on my basic premise that there is a lot of blame to go around. The helmet -to-helmet rule has too many if this, if that statements. For instance, when the receiver is a receiver and when he becomes a runner. Hello NFL … Helmet-to-helmet shouldn’t matter … that is they they really cared, which I question. …. but I realize that would have to be a rule change.

      Fan behavior is sad, and has been. NFL allows it then throw up their hands when something happens. Just another way of stepping away from responsibility. The majority of fans in all the cities are good … and many have incidents that serve as a poor reflection of the whole – which really isn’t true.

      Liked by 1 person

  18. I get rivalries & such. But – it should all be done in good fun. It’s terrible how “fans” can get out of hand. There is a definite line that should not be crossed. As for players & all who are on the field…That’s another messed up situation. Players get themselves so wrapped up in winning sometimes – that they forget how to play the game as it should be.
    I guess money & popularity just takes over sometimes. It’s a shame.

    Like

Comment with respect.

