Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 66

On He Got it Right
This is something I didn’t think could happen. As surprising as this may be, he’s right! Yes, I totally agree with House Minority Leader John Boehner (R-OH) who (in a recent speech)  said, “It’s time to put grown-ups in charge.” Again, he is right! So, Mr. Boehner, when are you resigning as House Minority Leader?

Although Ruth Marcus takes Mr. Boehner’s speech to task in this column, I most appreciate her last sentence.

Democrats — and the country — would benefit from a responsible opposition party. I’m still looking for evidence of one.

On the Latest Primaries
While some boast about primary wins by Palin-endorsed candidates, I ask this critical question: Can these candidates capture enough votes from the center to win the seat? Time will tell, but I say no.

On the College Football
Hey hey … college football is around the corner and Alabama is ranked #1. Who did they beat to earn the top spot?

On Tiger and the Ryder Cup
Tiger Woods has not earned enough points for an automatic selection to this year’s Ryder Cup team. Would I make him a captain’s pick? At this point, absolutely not. His swing is out of whack and his mind is all over the place. I know that he’s off to a great start at the Barkley’s, but I don’t think he is reliable at this time.  Captain Pavin announces his picks Sept. 7th, so maybe I’ll say more before then.

On those Storm Names
On Thursday, Frank reached hurricane strength in the Pacific. The National Hurricane Center provides this interesting list of storms names. I didn’t realize geography made such a difference!

On the Passing Space Station
Wednesday night I observed the Space Station pass directly over my house. Being one remembering the earliest days of the manned space program, I thought it was cool. For we in Cincinnati, it passes again Thursday and Friday night.

On the Reds
To the dismay of some national pundits, my Cincinnati Reds continue to hang in there. Let’s see … they rank high in batting average, runs scored, fielding, and pitching (since mid-June). Although the trip to SF was horrible, mirrors or not, they are real at to this point in time.

On Honoring 4192
Much to my surprise, and to the chagrin of former MLB Commissioner Fay Vincent (his comments), Commissioner Bud Selig granted approval to the Reds to honor the 25th anniversary of Pete Rose breaking the all-time hits record. Not only that, he approved Pete’s on-the-field participation.

I realize that Fay Vincent is a crank who only gets media attention on the Rose issue, but is this the first step for the Reds to eventually retire number 14?

I continue to maintain that I can accept no Cooperstown induction. I can accept no involvement with an MLB team. However, as I said in this popular April 13, 2009 post, I cannot accept the Reds not being able to retire #14, let alone Pete not being in the Reds HOF.

On a Cincinnati Addition
Kings Island, an amusement park just north of Cincinnati, announced this week a new ride for 2011 – the 301 ft tall WindSeeker. See the animation for something I don’t think I could ride.