On Random Science Thoughts

On a New Header
As I stated on the first post of the year, my plan is to dedicate the 2010 to the Hubble Telescope by changing headers throughout the year. As I have stated several time, I find great awe in Hubble images as they display play my belief in continual creation.

I started the year with an image of the Veil Nebula, and now I change to the Trifid Nebula. Here are two links to learn more about Trifid: Wikipedia and Science Daily.

Interestingly, yesterday NASA released images from the WISE Mission.

To see the previous header, click the Past Banners tab along the top.

On the European Telescope
I recently discovered the images from the European Southern Observatory (ESO). Their telescope, Visible and Infrared Survey Telescope for Astronomy (VISTA), recently released new images – simply amazing. Here is the click to their gallery, and I added it as a Potpourri link.

On Watts Up with That?
While visiting Basic Blogonomics (of my friend Dave), I discovered an interesting science site – Watts Up with That?: Commentary on puzzling things in life, nature, science, weather, climate change, technology, and recent news by Anthony Watts. Interesting reading here.

On Masdar City
Masdar City in Adu Dhabi, UAE is a planned city that will rely entirely on solar energy and other renewable energy sources, with a sustainable, zero-carbon, zero-waste ecology. It is quite intriguing and worth searching on your favorite search engines.

On Global Warming
Although I realize that global warming is a controversial topic, much of it is due to misinformation and selective use of statistics. There’s no doubt in my mind that the debate is actually about economics, I’m still amazed how some people seeking power play on the ignorance or stupidity of others. Let’s take the Virginia state Republican Party officials who use this winter’s storms in their area to fire doubt about global warming. Time had this to say about the situation:

Weather is what will happen next weekend; climate is what will happen over the next decades and centuries. And while our ability to predict the former has become reasonably reliable, scientists are still a long way from being able to make accurate projections about the future of the global climate. (Click for full article)

On Learning Physics
Years ago, I learned about this site and its creator. Whether you are a parent of a student, a student, or just a person who has always enjoyed physics, this is a the Physics Classroom.

Here are a few other sites to enjoy.

2 thoughts on “On Random Science Thoughts

  1. I like the new header!

    Yes, Global Warming is such a controversial topic. I’m not the most knowledgeable on that subject, but it wouldn’t be debated as much if most everyone was educated enough about it.

    Thanks for the link to my site. That other site you found on my page is a great one. I like the catchy title, too.

    Good day to you!

    Like

    • David,
      Glad you like the new header. I hope to replace it in 6-8 weeks with another Hubble image.

      One thing controversial topics have with each other is that so many people don’t know enough about the topic to actually have a valid opinion. After all, there’s a lot to learn about anything …. so well stated!

      Watts Up is a great title … plus a plus a place I will need to visit more often. Meanwhile … off to an errand.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Comment with respect.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.