On an Upcoming Show

Note: This post may seem all over the place because it is – so be patient.

The next season of Dancing with the Stars (DWTS) will feature past performers and the executives surprised me with their cast announcement ahead of their normal routine. I know that the decision of the cast primarily depends on ratings and availability, thus the announcement confirmed my worst fears – Bristol Palin returns! (Here are the pairings.)

Back to Bristol Palin. I don’t care if she finished third in season 11. She wasn’t that good, the judges were more lenient with her than any contestant ever (IMO), and the Palinistas faithfully voted her just because they could. Eventually, I became so disgusted that I refused to watch until she was gone.

The bean-counting-focused decision makers selected her in order to gain a ratings boost during the height of the presidential campaign – yet hopefully not to sway the election. I know the Palin’s are all about making money, but geez Louise, get a grip ABC! In my opinion, this shows that ABC executives favor of their financial pockets over respecting the election process in their country, which I find disgusting and a disgrace to those of us who enjoy the show.

This earns ABC executives a Dolt of the Year nomination. Fear not because NBC also gets a nomination because they secured Papa Grizzly for a show I wouldn’t have watched anyway (Stars Earn Stripes, which just started).  Besides, NBC have done other bonehead decisions this year, such as what they said about the reasons for cancelling Harry’s Law.

Nevertheless, ABC made their selections and Bristol Palin was not the only controversial selection because the list also pathetically includes more than one DWTS employee. So, in the spirit of living up to my own standards, odds are I will boycott Season 15 to avoid Blood of Nincompoop – or at least not watch until she’s gone.