On My 2008 Chevrolet Malibu

At December’s congressional hearings, GM CEO Rick Wagoner cited the Chevrolet Malibu as a current GM success. The purpose of this post is not to debate Mr. Wagner’s statement, but to let you know my thoughts about that car because I purchased a new LS in February 2008; and yes, I still have it.

Exterior

  • Stylish European body design
  • Resembles Audi A6 – Think I’m crazy? Compare here.

Interior

  • Stylish
  • Roomy
  • Seats fine, backs are firmer than the seat
  • Information system on the dash is a plus
  • 4 speeds on the fan/ventilation control is too few
  • Winter-time heating quickly available, get heating on the feet could improve
  • Glove compartment is small, but the shallow storage area on top of the dash is interesting

Ride

  • Comfortable
  • Quiet

Drive & Performance

  • 4-cylinder engine
  • Mileage: 24 m/g city, low 30s highway
  • Acceleration is OK, but not as good as my wife’s 4-cylinder ’03 Accord
  • Handling isn’t as tight as some foreign models, but not as loose as the past
  • Average turning radius

Others

  • 2008 North American Car of the Year and is recommend by Consumer Reports (latest report, January 2009).
  • Trunk, and its opening, is smaller than expected, probably due to its aerodynamics.
  • Although information seems to point to GM doing better advance planning with this vehicle, the Malibu’s long-term reliability is unknown.
  • Interestingly, the engine light came on at 1,200 miles. The problem was due to a defective engine part, not in mass, just in mine. Because of the nature of the part, GM eventually took a part off the assembly line to correct my problem, so it took a while.
  • During my search I also considered a Mazda 6 and Hyundai Sonata.
  • At the start of the Malibu line, the LS is one of the best values available. When I bought, this car was cheaper than the Toyota Corolla, let alone more car and comfort. So one year later, I don’t regret purchasing this car.

The Official Site for the 2009 Chevrolet Malibu