Opinions in the Shorts: Vol 12

On Gas Prices
Why have gas prices risen since December while oil prices decline? It’s a matter of supply and demand. Consumers are comfortable and suppliers are not operating refineries at full capacity.

On the Dominos of Life
Life is full of many domino-effect events. Months ago while listening to a person I got one of those “I should” ideas. About a month ago from reading a blog entry rekindled that same “I should” idea. Last week I received an email from church about a need, which triggered the same “I should” idea. This past Saturday I acted on that idea by sharing a story at my church’s monthly men’s breakfast.

On Baseball Downfalls
Sports figures have  a great propensity to be in the news and spot a negative light on to themselves, their sport, and the community they represent. With that in mind, and with the baseball season gearing up, Real Clear Sports listed their Top 10 Tarnished Baseball Reputations.

On Partisan Politics
Regular readers know I continue to rail against the partisans on both sides of the aisle. In that spirit, I appreciate this column from the New York Times.

On Great Posts of the Week
Here are several challenging posts I loved this week.

On Other Blogs
Written by a cartoonist that you may know the BizarroBlog provides wonderful stories and commentary accompanying the illustration of the day. Definitely for those with an offbeat sense of humor … and clicking the links is part of the experience.

American Heartland Bar & Grill is one of my early stops in the day. After all, they were the first to recognize my efforts. There primary efforts are with politics and college sports, they also link readers to other worthwhile posts.