Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 374

Embed from Getty Images

 

Pronouns: The Musical is continue its trek this weekend featuring songs with Her in the title. Curtain time is Saturday at 1:00 am (Eastern US). Sorry about the glitch at starting the last act.

Extra-special thanks to everyone commenting on the 10th anniversary of my little corner of the world. Besides the kind words, your presence met so much to me. Thank you!!!!

In the anniversary post I guessed that Debra was the commenter with the longest tenure. Well, that’s not the case. I would say that Debra is the longest-running continuous commenter, but of the people who commented on this post, Patti Ross was the longest followed by Robin, Elyse, then Debra. Thanks to this great group of ladies.

In the last minute of the last game in last year’s pro football season, Cincinnati’s Andy Dalton threw a touchdown pass to win the game against Baltimore – and the Baltimore loss put Buffalo into the playoffs for the first time in many years. Buffalo fans responded by donating over $400,000 to Andy Dalton’s charity foundation! When introduced to the crowd before the Cincinnati-Buffalo preseason game last week, Buffalo fans gave Andy Dalton a rousing standing ovation. To give his thanks and announce a donation to a cancer center in Buffalo, Dalton recorded a message that played for the crowd.

I had an odd blog encounter this week. Discovered that I’m related to a person I met through a blogger. We have the same great-great-grandfather. I don’t research ancestry, but that was an unbelievable encounter. Just another example of how technology makes the world smaller.

What percentage (do you think) of internet users in China are mobile? Click here to check your answer.

Subject to last-minute change, I won’t be posting a beach walk this weekend. After all, it’s a 3-day holiday weekend here in the USA. My plan is for the series to resume next week.

Embed from Getty Images

 

Why am I not surprised that rising gas prices has made very little news? Then again, summer usually involves an increase, so let’s see what happens the rest of the year.

President Trump’s messages about the passing of Sen. John McCain were expectedly pathetic. After all, he’s a pathetic person and an even worse leader.

This week I thought about John McCain: the politician. The one who saw a different way in 2000 compared to the one who caved into the party’s right wing in 2008.

I dislike negative campaign ads – and November’s Election Day seems so far away.

My odds for future elections

  • Democrats taking control of the House in 2018: 65%
  • Democrats taking control of the Senate in 2018: 25%
  • Democrats getting my 2020 presidential vote: 20%
  • Republican (other than Trump) getting my 2020 presidential vote: 10%
  • Donald Trump getting my 2020 vote: 0%
  • Donald Trump winning re-election: 60%
Embed from Getty Images

 

To lead you into this week’s dose of satirical headlines, The Onion offers tips for winning escape rooms.

Weekly Headlines from The Onion (combos welcome)

Green Energy Scientists Unveil 800,000-Ton Potato Capable Of Powering Entire City
New liver can really handle its Scotch
Landlord promises to figure out why leaky ceiling not his fault
Man knows in reality marrying Minnie Mouse wouldn’t be as perfect as he imagines
Grandmother can’t believe she hung on this long for granddaughter’s lame-ass wedding
Non-considerate passenger takes up entire overhead bin (click here for the must-see image)

Interesting Reads

Innovative infrastructure solutions in 5 US cities
Sex Education in the Netherlands
A look back at Chicago 1968: the Democratic convention
Heroin history and El Chapo
Looking Muslim
The Nazi officer who saved Paris
(Pictures) Aerial views of rich and poor

To send you into the weekend and continuing the summer theme, here’s a Golden Oldie introduced by an icon. In the words of Garrison Keillor, Be well, do good work, and keep in touch.

22 thoughts on “Opinions in the Shorts: Vol. 374

  1. Cincy,

    I was WAY off on my guess as per the China number.
    And sixty percent seems about right, and it also scares me quite a lot, to tell the truth. The way he conducted himself regarding the late John McCain is a complete embarrassment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. How cool to run into a relative in the blogosphere! The worls is puny indeed.
    Great song selection – and opening with Dick Clark… come ON.
    Why is everyone surprised Trump was a putz re John McCain?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Except for #5, all your odds for future elections surpassed my expectations.

    The read “The Nazi officer who saved Paris” made me further appreciate the long walks I took through that city last fall.

    Three cheers for Andy Dalton!

    No splats.

    Like

  4. My guess for China was 95% so I was close. We will see how your odds work out. Yes, Trump’s dilatory acknowledge of McCain was lame. I watched some of the services for him and for a minute we seemed united a bit more somehow. Have a good weekend. Fun photos this Friday!

    Like

  5. Chad and Jeremy?! I have not even thought of them in years and years. Thanks. I do not always comment on your posts, but I pretty much always read them. Your insights, honesty and humor always brighten my day.

    Like

  6. Sorry I’m late to joining the “party” this weekend. It’s been so cray-cray around the Ranch and I’ve been late to just about everything. This week had me mourning the decay of decency in politics. Whenever I think it can’t possibly get worse, the petty officer in chief manages to out-do his bad little self. While I did not agree with much of the Arizona senator’s political principles, he was a good man mostly (well except for that Sarah Palin thing). There was never any doubt he loved his country and his family and did the best for each. RIP Senator. 🇺🇸

    Very much enjoyed the memory lane video with Chad & Jeremy. For all the turmoil back in the 60’s & 70’s, those were kinder, gentler days comparatively. As for “Her” I was thinking Kris Kistofferson’s “Loving Her Was Easier” might be a plausible entry. https://youtu.be/HCgnbRWVvU8

    Have a good Labor Day weekend.

    Like

  7. I was such a fan of Chad & Jeremy and love this particular song. I have always listened to music throughout my day and have a very large musical library, but I think I’ve even kicked it up a notch for me lately. I have finally hit my wall with the constant vitriol. I am going to have to adopt the attitude that I’ll sit back and watch the show and we’lll see how it all turns out. I will remain active and committed in areas where I can make a difference, and then after that, just try to hold on! LOL! Watching the McCain funeral was emotional for me in some interesting ways. My husband’s parents were married in the Washington Cathedral and my dad’s birthday was Saturday, and he had a very strong appreciation for McCain. I hope every invited guest spent some time in personal inventory and considered what will be said about them and their integrity at their one-day memorial service.

    Like

Comment with respect.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.