A Weekend with the Greatest Generation

Although the election brought us history and plenty of political fodder, the election isn’t everything. As a matter of fact, Veteran’s Day could be the perfect day to step away pause and reflect. Heck, it may even give us insight for the challenges ahead.

Tom Brokaw’s Greatest Generation is composed of those growing up in the depression and fighting in World War II, Korea, and even Vietnam. This generation worked hard, served as business leaders during years when small town America had thriving downtowns, and led all levels of big industry and business. This generation created the baby boomers, and work hard to insure that they would have it better than them.

This generation knew how to be frugal because they lived it; then learned how to be prudent as their wealth accumulated. Imagine predicting to this generation about the day of $4 coffee and $1 bottled water.

On a weekend in September I got a chance to be with many from this generation. My dad was a soldier in World War II, and then re-enlisted in the 1950s. Although Korea had started, knowing the Italian language helped him get assigned to the Free Territory of Trieste. This particular weekend served as a reunion for the Blue Devils division that patrolled Trieste following WW II, thus essentially the beginning of the Cold War.

As their numbers dwindle and getting around becomes increasingly difficult, these proud men have yearly reunions. There’s no set program, just time for them to reacquaint, reminisce, and laugh. They came to St. Louis from allover the country; heck, even two came from England.

Interestingly, many of these men married Triestine women, so these ladies are also an integral part of the story of this time and place in history. I was captivated by the stories they share about growing up during the height of Fascism, encountering war, dealing with occupations by the Nazis, the Communists, and eventually the Allies. Their pride for their city was evident, as was their appreciation for freedom.

Since I was born in Trieste during this period, this served as a personal renewal of my roots. Even more so, it was a chance for me to more fully understand the impact of this generation. Their stories, personal bonds, and their ties to history bind their pride into one.

This group lived the depression. Some participated in world war that was truly about freedom while all of them lived the post-war cold war period. These are the people who built America with their hands and minds. These are the people that gave baby boomers like me the chance to have a better life than they.

We baby boomers got the education to advance. We baby boomers got the chance to experience many material things better than our parents. We got to experience freedoms for which they fought.

A better life? – I’m not so sure. Since life is shaped by the experiences one lives, there’s no way we experienced the magnitudes of their life. To fully experience where you are, you must know where you’ve been. But yes to a better life because we got a chance to experience of the benefits you preserved.

On this Veteran’s Day, thank you to all veterans for your time and sacrifices; but a special thank you to the Greatest Generation for significantly changing life for so many.

7 thoughts on “A Weekend with the Greatest Generation

  1. Unlike me, my older brother had an exceptionally easygoing, outward personality type. He was the kind of person who could talk to a stranger and in 5 minutes it would be as if they were life-long friends.

    I always admired that in him. I’m an introvert.

    His life was an open book. He told everyone everything to the point of being a braggart.

    The only thing he rarely talked about was his time in Vietnam. War, I think, affects people beyond words.

    All he ever said to me was how stupidly the war was fought… and then only very rarely. I have some old pictures of him in dusty fatigues that he’d sent me. He was grim-faced and holding an M-16.

    Hes gone now, unrelated to the war.

    I inherited several things whose true history I will never know. One is a purple heart he’d received I never knew about. I once saw the bullet wound in his abdomen but he never told me how he got it.

    Another item was a poorly constructed, hand-made Viet Cong flag. I’d have thought it a cheap souvenir he purchased in Saigon if not for one thing… it was blood stained.

    Veterans, I think, sacrifice more of themselves for our betterment than we could ever fathom.

    Like

    • AZ,
      What a wonderful addition to this post. Here I write about WW II veterans, and you brilliantly like it to Vietnam. No doubt, those vets are a story of themselves – and a group that didn’t receive recognition for their sacrifice. And now I think of the current vets from their time in Afghanistan/Iraq = many of whom struggle one their return.

      Thanks for sharing your story and the treasures you hold.

      Like

  2. Thanks for directing me here Frank. Your father is a wonderful man. I didn’t know you grew up in Trieste. We really need to honour men like your father for all they did and never let that part of history be forgotten. xx

    Like

  3. The greatest generation and like you said humble. I think of my grandfather when reading this post he had an amazing work ethic and worked very hard so that his family could have it easier then he did. He would never pay 4 dollars for a cup of coffee. It’s great that you had the opprotunity to hear some of the stories and to learn about this part of our history. I think it is important to understand the past as we go into the future.

    Like

    • Starla,
      I can imagine the reaction if I would have told my parents, aunts/uncles that I was going to sell $4-5 coffee and bottled water. Meanwhile, I grew up in the shadows of WW II, but never experiencing it. Oh little did I know! Meanwhile, thanks for wondering over to this post.

      Like

Comment with respect.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.